We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for visiting Leeuwarden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated right across the railway station and has only two floors.Thehotel has a underground garage (10 EUR - reservation not possible - 21 places). The hotel has some easy seeting places in the lobby, where 4 computers with internet are at the free disposal of the guests. In this lobby and the restaurant you have free wireless internet. In the rooms there is no wireless internet, but a free cable access is available in the rooms. In the lobby different dutch newspapers are at the disposal of the clients and a one page with news in German, Spanish and English are available.
The breakfast is very complete (juice, scrambled eggs, bacon, mushrooms and sausages, different kind of bread, cheese, roastbeef, ham, coffe, thee, muesli, fruit salad, ...)
We had a superior room with is very large and contains airco, safe, minibar, tv, water boiler and the bathroom contains a bath and a sink. The shampoo is now available through two dispensers.
The rooms are perfectly isolated and almost no sound of the exterior enters.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 862 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

A group of four of us stayed here for the first time for one night on Queen's Day while visiting family. We know Leeuwarden well and have stayed in other hotels there, so we thought we would try this well-known establishment. The key word here is comfort. From the sofas, magazines and newspapers in the lobby-lounge to our spacious room with easy chair and tea-making facility, to the sunny terrace with comfy chairs outside the front of the hotel, everything is designed for a relaxing stay. The ambiance successfully combines old style and modern. We had dinner and breakfast here as well, and the food is good (although not absolutely outstanding). The staff are efficient and very welcoming and happy to help. The hotel is right opposite the bus and train stations and within easy walking distance of everything in the town. We had rooms at the back and it was not at all noisy. Needless to say, everything was spotlessly clean and smart looking. The bed was a little bit 'saggy' for me as I have a bad back but people who prefer a less supportive bed might be happy with that. All in all, one of the best places to stay in Leeuwarden.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This Hôtel is very comfortable, located just near the railway station but very calm and silent. Very close to the center of leeuwarden . Nice welcoming, very large room for three people, super clean and confortable , wi-fi in the room. . Services all the night .
good modern accomodation in Leeuwarden.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabzParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieteke, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thank you for your stay at the Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden and sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. Your positive comments makes us feel very proud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Leeuwarden is the 'county' city of the northern dutch part known as 'Freisland' - allthough it is not touristic destination by itself, the city offers great start point for travelling along the northern Holland coast, with easy access to some attractions around (such as near by islands or Croningen), as well with great nice shopping center with in walking distance from the hotel.

Important advantage of the 'Oranje' is its location rigth next to the Leewarden train station (across the street !) enabling you to reach the place easily directly from Schiphol airport or Amsterdam central station ! (there is certainly no noise disturbance from the train at the hotel)
So either with children or buisness trip - great position !!

The hotel itself has only 2 floors which make the accomodation very cosy, nice & helpfull stuff, nice rooms equipped with all facilities (even had waterbeds for the kids on one occation few years ago !) - great buffet breakfast with wide selection of cheese & ham and their excelent
morning breads - certainly to the highest level I have met in Holland (and keep in mind I've beenworking with Dutch firms over than 20 years !!)

As hotel usual rates apply mostly to buisness travellers, you might find it bit high, but for you friends who took the time to read my review, herewith an important update ! - as of hotel close location to the Dutch island near by, they have arranged few 'package' deals for 2/3 night's stay, including their great breakfast and one day tour to the islands (you could hire family bike there, which is great experiece for kids !) - prices are than much cheaper than usual rates !!
I do suggest to apply by email to the hotel in order to get those deals details before reservation
Additionally, the hotel restaurant is a good option for evening meals !

Stayed there few times, always loved it - warm reccomendation from Israel !!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, in case of family you could ask for suite, most important tip is to contact the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zevik61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for over a month now (Monday to Thursday only). At first I was pleasently surprised and enjoyed the hotel. The rooms are nice, beds comfortable, breakfast ok (although 15 EUR for breakfast is a lot). Then I started noticing the little things like, the container for soap was not refilled during my stay, after I used all the the tea bags, they were not new ones added. The restaurant in the hotel is quite expensive and at one occasion they counted twice the tip, so tip added up to 30%. And in the end, I asked for a room with breakfast included in the price. When I checked out, the breakfast was stated separately on the invoice and the person at the counter said it was impossible to change. Although last week I had exactly the same situation and it was possible to change.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EwaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieteke, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to notice that you were pleasantly surprised at first. You have adressed some points (refill, invoice) which were not up to our standard of service and we will improve. Thanks again for sharing this information and therefore giving us the chance to improve. I do hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay in Eden Oranje Hotel in Leeuwarden. In the centre of the city, very handy! The room was okay and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JannekeMeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We booked a superior room through their own website, including breakfast. The room itself was spacious, but very dark which gave it a bit of a gloomy feeling. The room was quite chilly, due to the fact that it was situated on a corner. Putting the heater up didn't help much. Beds were good, nothing special. Always find it strange when the bathroom is equiped with a bath no one can have a decent bath in; what's the point then? It meant we had to step into a high bath and the space to shower in was very small. Why not just put in a roomy walk-in shower? Breakfast was very good, lots of choice, good quality products. And the Frisians are very friendly people. All in all for the price we paid it was a good stay. We could tell an effort was made to accomodate guests.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieteke, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. I would just like to inform you that we do have a few rooms with a roomy walk-in shower. When you fill in a preference at your reservation we will do our utmost to allocate one of those rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeuwarden
0.4 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
0.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
0.9 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Stenden Hotel
Stenden Hotel
#3 of 11 in Leeuwarden
215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
#6 of 11 in Leeuwarden
95 reviews
13.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Sneek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden

Address: Stationsweg 4, 8911 AG Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range: $91 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1879, the Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden is a four-star hotel located directly opposite the station in the charming old town of Leeuwarden. Nearby you can explore the town's famous maze of narrow cobbled streets, bustling with stylish shops, excellent restaurants and cosy cafe terraces. The hotel has 78 recently refurbished rooms, five conference rooms, new restaurant and lounge bar Van Buren, and private parking. Come along to experience Frisian friendliness to the fullest. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing