We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
625 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have only spent one night here but it was a good experience. Location is very good in the centre of the city. The restaurant was very flexible, seeing to the fact we had to have dinner early, even before opening hours, which was no problem. Good food too. Beds and room were ok. I could park the car in front of the hotel. I skipped breakfast so I cannot judge that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FORZA7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    151
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
225
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

For a business trip I stayed one night at the Post Plaza in Leeuwarden. I booked the stay including a surprise dinner. The hotel is small and accommodates relatively few rooms, which makes it kind of cosy. The surprise dinner was truly very good - I could say outstanding for the price/quality. Atmosphere of the restaurant is very nice. Service is at expected level. The hotel rooms are nice. Not spacious (comfort room) but with high quality. Though 7 years old one could not see it. Comfortable beds too. Only point was the noise outside. My room was located on the side of an alley. Not sure what it was, but some mechanical noise started round 22h00. I did not bother to contact the reception because I slept through it.

Unfortunately I was unable to use the wellness - which is free of use for guests.

Room Tip: Not on the alley side - noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeronimoburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Room with great space and very well decorated.. Good views in the windows also..
The restaurant has great cuisine and wines, as well as very interesting breakfeast.
Gym and spa also available.
All the staff was very nice and helpful.. Really great place to have a good relaxed time...

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlvaroAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Hotel Post Plaza for a couple of nights. The hotel is located right in the center, walking distance to everything, shops, restaurants, parks etc.
Rooms are nice, modern, clean and spacious.
Didnt book the breakfast as 15euro per person seems a bit hefty.
Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHanoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at this property and it was lovely both times. It's clean and comfortable along with being quaint and close to the center of everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who stays on this wonderful city

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtmtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
335 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The owner was so friendly and the hotel so cosy that I wish I could give the place five stars. However, in comparison to the two hotels I stayed at in Amsterdam I can not. This is likely the best place to stay in the north of Holland. It is attractive and in a good neighborhood. It makes a great base to explore the north of Holland. We parked our car in front of the hotel in metered parking.

We arrived and received three rooms for our family. My father was given a room that stunk of cigarette smoke (a problem all over the country). The owner understood that this was not acceptable so he gave my father another room. This room was facing a large construction site that was quite noisy. Luckily, we did not spend a lot of time in the hotel that day and the the following day was a weekend and there was no construction. The other two rooms we had faced the attractive courtyard. Here is the issue with that. There is no air conditioning in the room so you would like to have your windows open. In the afternoon I could not open the window since people were smoking in the courtyard. In the evening there is fairly loud music from the courtyard area so I didn't open them too long. Also the screens do not fully cover the window.

The room itself was fine. The bathroom too was fine. They lacked a soap dish which was odd. They also skimped a bit on products providing the minimum for two people. The breakfast area was lovely and we had included breakfast buffets that were typically Dutch. The most wonderful part was the large orange juicer that provided huge amounts of fresh orange juice. That was a five star experience. There is nothing like fresh juice in the morning.

One night we had drinks in the hotel. The owner himself served us and gave us delicious cookies with the coffee and tea. The following night we had dinner at the hotel in their elegant dining area. The meal was not memorable. There was an issue of overcooking duck. The atmosphere was nice.

My biggest problem with the hotel was the noise. I was bothered by the music outside at night, by the elevator noise near my room and mostly by the impossible banging around by the upstairs neighbors. I can't imagine what they were doing but they were doing it very loudly till the early hours of the morning. That would be the only reason I am not likely to return. Otherwise the friendliness of the staff is my biggest impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misanthropicdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The actual rooms seemed a bit outdated, but still nice, clean and comfortable, the showers were really nice with an overhead rain shower, with lots of water pressure and hot water (we didn't find this I other parts of Friesland).

We had an included dinner at the hotel, it was very unusual food for us, including chicory mousse, and apparently smoked pigeon. It was a bit fancy for my children, but it was a beautiful dining room, with nice service. It took about three hours for the three courses to be served, which seemed a bit drawn out, but still everything was very nice, with good service.

Breakfast was also nice, with some nice extras like homemade jam.

The staff was very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlsybrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeuwarden
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
1.1 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
0.7 mi away
Stenden Hotel
Stenden Hotel
#3 of 10 in Leeuwarden
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
15.6 mi away
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
#1 of 1 in Beetsterzwaag
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cafe 't Anker
Hotel Cafe 't Anker
#9 of 10 in Leeuwarden
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe

Property: Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
Address: Tweebaksmarkt 27, 8911 KW Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Post-Plaza is located in the city center of Leeuwarden. Recently the hotel has undergone a major renovation. The old post office building from Leeuwarden has been converted into a new and trendy Grand Cafe. In the old post office and the adjoining Gratama Bank are 82 luxury hotel rooms. Both building are monumental and connected to each other with a walkway made of glass. Our 82 luxury hotel rooms are equipped with all necessities such as flat screen TV, safe, coffee & thee facilities, luxurious bath room and free WiFi. All of our hotel rooms are non-smoking. All of our hotel guests have free access to our wellness facilities. In our wellness you will find a fitness, jacuzzi, sauna and a Turkish steam bath. An additional service is a massage and/or treatment which is bookable at our esthetician. In our Grand Cafe we will serve our breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is open on daily basis from 07:00 AM until 01:00 AM. Here we will serve you the most delicious drinks and bites. Our Barista is burning his own coffee beans and the waitress is preparing the most surprising beverages. Hotel Post-Plaza is situated in a quiet bystreet just a 2 minutes walk from the city center. The former prison, which is nowadays a cultural center, ‘’De Blokhuispoort’’ is in the extension of the Tweebaksmarkt, where Hotel Post-Plaza is located. On a very short distance you can find the Frisian museum and the ceramics museum. The railway station is only 1200 meters from the hotel. The closest bus stop is 300 meters and is called ‘’Blokhuisplein’’. Hotel Post-Plaza has his own parking lots, which you have to reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing