We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very pretty city, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very pretty city, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The actual rooms seemed a bit outdated, but still nice, clean and comfortable, the showers were really nice with an overhead rain shower, with lots of water pressure and hot water (we didn't find this I other parts of Friesland).

We had an included dinner at the hotel, it was very unusual food for us, including chicory mousse, and apparently smoked pigeon. It was a bit fancy for my children, but it was a beautiful dining room, with nice service. It took about three hours for the three courses to be served, which seemed a bit drawn out, but still everything was very nice, with good service.

Breakfast was also nice, with some nice extras like homemade jam.

The staff was very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlsybrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    103
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
155
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Absolutely recommendable hotel in the centre of the city. Very good sauna downstairs, free towels and bathrobes present. (Really hot, 93 degrees!). The hotel is rather new and kept exceptionally clean. Even vegetarians can have a great diner in the restaurant. We loved it and will surely return one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with streetview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenTrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Liked the location of this hotel whichis close to central station and iis close to the most restaurant. Staffs were very friendly and attentive welcoming. It was my first time in this property and purely follwed tripadvisor.com reviews before walking in which proved me right. I will definately recommend this place for all travellers to this city

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desidudedxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a Groupon.nl offer and so pleased we did so. What struck us was how young the staff were. Don't let that put you off as they were extremely professional, helpful and friendly. A great advert for Frisland. Please try the restaurant as the food and service was first class. We also loved the car parking service, perfect for those of us who don't know the area. We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fxj104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Central location in the old part of city. Dinner and breakfast both excellent, room was comfortable, service was very good, free wifi, so overall highly recommended. I didn't use the sauna or health spa so I can't comment on those.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bactrianus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,163 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful stay here (king room). Very friendly staff. Wonderfully updated hotel in a historic building. Very short walk to the downtown canal area for shopping, bars and restaurants. Great price for the deluxe room and valet parking was a good deal. Breakfast was a nice buffet and the multicourse dinner was tasty. Look nowhere else for a room in Leeuwarden.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here several times when doing business in Leeuwarden. The Post Plaza is definitely one of the nicer hotels in town. The location is great if you want to go to the city center - there are many restaurants and bars in the area. The railway station is still within walking distance (about 10-15 minutes). The staff is friendly, the restaurant offers OK quality for breakfast and dinner.
The room rates are a bit expensive in comparison to other places; especially as some of the standard rooms are really small. You should try to get a good deal on a comfort room or suite. The beds were very soft in all rooms I stayed in, which could be an issue if you prefer a hard matress for a good-nights-sleep. The hotel also has a small gym hidden in the basement (1 treadmill, 2 bikes, 1 stepper, a few resistance machines); the equipment is not the newest.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a historic building, so the layout is different in most rooms. Some of the standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeuwarden
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
1.2 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
0.7 mi away
Stenden Hotel
Stenden Hotel
#4 of 10 in Leeuwarden
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
15.6 mi away
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
#1 of 1 in Beetsterzwaag
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
#7 of 10 in Leeuwarden
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe

Property: Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
Address: Tweebaksmarkt 27, 8911 KW Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Post-Plaza is located in the city center of Leeuwarden. Recently the hotel has undergone a major renovation. The old post office building from Leeuwarden has been converted into a new and trendy Grand Cafe. In the old post office and the adjoining Gratama Bank are 82 luxury hotel rooms. Both building are monumental and connected to each other with a walkway made of glass. Our 82 luxury hotel rooms are equipped with all necessities such as flat screen TV, safe, coffee & thee facilities, luxurious bath room and free WiFi. All of our hotel rooms are non-smoking. All of our hotel guests have free access to our wellness facilities. In our wellness you will find a fitness, jacuzzi, sauna and a Turkish steam bath. An additional service is a massage and/or treatment which is bookable at our esthetician. In our Grand Cafe we will serve our breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is open on daily basis from 07:00 AM until 01:00 AM. Here we will serve you the most delicious drinks and bites. Our Barista is burning his own coffee beans and the waitress is preparing the most surprising beverages. Hotel Post-Plaza is situated in a quiet bystreet just a 2 minutes walk from the city center. The former prison, which is nowadays a cultural center, ‘’De Blokhuispoort’’ is in the extension of the Tweebaksmarkt, where Hotel Post-Plaza is located. On a very short distance you can find the Frisian museum and the ceramics museum. The railway station is only 1200 meters from the hotel. The closest bus stop is 300 meters and is called ‘’Blokhuisplein’’. Hotel Post-Plaza has his own parking lots, which you have to reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing