We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice modern hotel in the center of Leeuwarden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel in the center of Leeuwarden”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located close to the city center. It has a own private parking facility (around 15 EUR per day). Alternatively you can make use of the close-by parking garage which is in walking distance and much cheaper.
The hotel staff is really friendly and provides helpful advises. The rooms are average sized, modern and offer all facilities that you need during a short stay. The hotel has furthermore a nice garden with a nice bar. I would however suggest not to have breakfast in the hotel since it is overpriced. There are nice alternatives around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam_Chris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    151
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
225
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed here for business for a few weeks in October. Check in was fast and efficient although we weren't aware of the valet parking which we needed to book in advance but there was no issue.

There is free wifi in the hotel with great coverage which was a big advantage. The gym while small is functional.

The restaurant food for dinner is exceptional. The breakfast is v good and service and friendliness of the staff was great.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Located in the center of Leeuwarden, the Grand Hotel Post Plaza offers a pleasant stay in a great location. The rooms were recently renovated into basic, but comfortable, configurations. Hotel service and breakfast were excellent. Best of all, the hotel's wifi network is open and fast -- perfect for getting work done.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moravec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Hotel Post is a nice hotel in the center of Leeuwarden.
Hotel has a valet parking but service (costs are added to your bill).

Rooms are nicely furbished and bathrooms are very modern (black stone bathrooms with rain showers).

In summer the hotel rooms can be very warm. Be sure to ask for a room with airco (these are located on the second floor).

The hotel restaurant is a very nice place for evening dining. Meals are of Michellin star quality and there is also a large choice of wines available.

Breakfast is again of high quality and provides a large choice of cereals, breads, meats, cheeses and eggs. Fresh juices and good coffee is also served.

Location is excellent and on a two minute walking distance from the center of the cities shopping area.

A very pleasant hotel with good facilities, an excellent restaurant and helpful staff, all at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: In summer ask for a room with air conditioning. These are on the second floor. Be sure to reserve a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levering59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I spent three nights at the GHP, and found it the best hotel I've stayed at in the Netherlands in terms of space (big bathroom, and a shower I could move around in without hitting stuff with my elbows).

Granted, it was a lot pricier than the hotels I usually stay in; but really I paid 110EU a night, which is currently one-fifty-ish CDN, so it wasn't that expensive. Plus, hotels in this range have an elevator.

The building is in a great location, even I managed to find it on foot while dragging my luggage, but I always recommend taking a cab to a hotel when arriving for the first time in Dutch cities, because its easy to get disoriented and walk a lot of extra miles. Trust me.

The bed in the room was comfortable, with great sheets; and the room had everything I want in a room - a tv, reliable wi-fi and the aforementioned excellent bathroom.

I didn't eat at the hotel (and sadly breakfast was not included with my room cost, its an additional 20EU), but what saw of their restaurant looked pretty good.

Tell you what, though, there is a really cool Irish-themed bar just down the street from the Grand that is a fun place to hang after exploring the city; and just around back of it is a little hole-in-the-wall pizza shop that makes absolutely excellent pies.

I give the Grand Post Plaza high marks all around; its in a reasonably central yet quiet area, the staff were very good all around, and I feel that spending the extra money on a 'premium' hotel was well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The Hotel portrays itself to be a luxury, designer hotel. The good news is rooms are reasonable size, though average shape with very comfortable beds. The bad news is the rooms are not the designer dream the website makes out. Take the bathroom "stone looking" tiles. They are not stone, just made to look like it. But the real issue is service. Not at all welcoming or helpful. Parking is a nightmare. You need to book this separately. If it is not available, then it is 1/2km walk from the town parking. And there are major roadworks at present (Sept 2010) which start at 7am outside the rooms. Be warned.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertmfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
875 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Last weekend I stayed in this hotel and I must say that this is a fabulous hotel, one of the best I’ve been to so far! The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the city; we had to walk less than a minute to reach the shops and cafes (no noise from cafes though in the hotel). The lobby is nice and stylish, a lot of elevators and the reception was okay. We parked our car in their parking space (quite expensive 12 euros for a day). We chose the luxurious room and this was really nice, big bed (two separate beds put together but comfy) and there was a smaller bed next to it (for kids?). The room had a lot of space, a flat screen TV (could not turn it unfortunately to face the bed all the way) and two or three comfy chairs. The bath room was stylish and had a nice rain forest shower and a bath. The best part of the hotel was still to come, the wellness area! Free Jacuzzi (first day the Jacuzzi did not get hotter than 33 degrees though, but still very nice and large), sauna and steam bath. Breakfast is good and with service. Also free high speed internet.

This is really a great hotel, if you are in Leeuwarden you should definitely stay here! I would rate this hotel a 9 on a scale of 10.

Room Tip: Try the luxourious room for only 30 euros more
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronaldo070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeuwarden
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
1.1 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
0.7 mi away
Stenden Hotel
Stenden Hotel
#3 of 10 in Leeuwarden
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
15.6 mi away
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
#1 of 1 in Beetsterzwaag
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cafe 't Anker
Hotel Cafe 't Anker
#9 of 10 in Leeuwarden
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe

Property: Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
Address: Tweebaksmarkt 27, 8911 KW Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Post-Plaza is located in the city center of Leeuwarden. Recently the hotel has undergone a major renovation. The old post office building from Leeuwarden has been converted into a new and trendy Grand Cafe. In the old post office and the adjoining Gratama Bank are 82 luxury hotel rooms. Both building are monumental and connected to each other with a walkway made of glass. Our 82 luxury hotel rooms are equipped with all necessities such as flat screen TV, safe, coffee & thee facilities, luxurious bath room and free WiFi. All of our hotel rooms are non-smoking. All of our hotel guests have free access to our wellness facilities. In our wellness you will find a fitness, jacuzzi, sauna and a Turkish steam bath. An additional service is a massage and/or treatment which is bookable at our esthetician. In our Grand Cafe we will serve our breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is open on daily basis from 07:00 AM until 01:00 AM. Here we will serve you the most delicious drinks and bites. Our Barista is burning his own coffee beans and the waitress is preparing the most surprising beverages. Hotel Post-Plaza is situated in a quiet bystreet just a 2 minutes walk from the city center. The former prison, which is nowadays a cultural center, ‘’De Blokhuispoort’’ is in the extension of the Tweebaksmarkt, where Hotel Post-Plaza is located. On a very short distance you can find the Frisian museum and the ceramics museum. The railway station is only 1200 meters from the hotel. The closest bus stop is 300 meters and is called ‘’Blokhuisplein’’. Hotel Post-Plaza has his own parking lots, which you have to reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing