We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Van Der Valk Hotel Emmen
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Emmen
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good value for your money”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

It's a Highway hotel, a bit away from everything,
Swimming pool is nice,
Rooms good be a bit cleaner, you get black feet of walking on the carpet in the room, Could be only that room,

The City Emmen is terrible on Sunday if you want to go out for dining, but the Zoo is there and Fast Food places are open :)

Reception staff could be friendlier

Room Tip: Book an extra bed in advance, if needed for your kid, it saves you money, and call the hotel 1 day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    122
    40
    8
    8
See reviews for
50
115
2
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ter Apel, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

we rented this room for a nice get a way in a special room - it is a very special room and so different then any other room you have ever been to - trust me! We really loved it. It has a round bed and a big round Jacuzzi with a wonderful steam room!
There were a couple of wear and tear things that I noticed and mentioned later in an email to the hotel and they were so sweet to appreciate this and send us a gift voucher for another stay in one of their luxury suites - how cool is that!
So chapeau Hotel Emmen - we love you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henrietteberndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Wilgen
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

In the sun outside having a nice lunch, staff was really helpful and quick.
Lunch menu is extensive and good value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedL426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bet Haemek - Israel
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

rooms very basic and old fashioned but beautiful bathroom.
No reading lights next to the beds.
Room is oversized but very old furniture.
Excellent restaurant and breakfast.
Friendly staff
Road hotel good for a 1 night stay over.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasten, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed twice in this hotel for a couple of nights each time and it was absolutely lovely! Quiet (we had no road noise), very reasonably priced (also in the restaurant) and very welcoming to our little dog. We had a deluxe room close to the big swimmingpool which we had pretty much to ourselves for the entire time we were there! The breakfast buffet has the widest selection we have ever come across. Only downside to this hotel is that wi-fi is quite pricey (€26 for a week - or approx €15 for a day!).

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room away from the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed for one night, on business trip, got on at 8pm and away for 7am, so short stay. Room was top class, very spacious, good wifi, great bathroom with good shower, as well as jacuzzi bath.
Had only a main meal and couple of beers, portion was huge and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawsie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Good points:
- Spacious rooms
- Great bathroom with jacuzzi and shower, plenty of towels, toiletries etc.
- Free internet via Wifi (4x 30mins per day per device for free at KPN access point)
- Indoor swimming pool, great for children
- Friendly staff
- Incredibly large breakfast buffet (by European standards)
- Big free parking lot, next to highway = easy access

Bad points:
- Beds are very soft
- Even though outside was cold, the rooms felt like a sauna; there appeared to be no airco
- Breakfast buffet understaffed: you have to prepare your eggs yourself; staff incapable of replenishing the buffet in time, providing fresh cups etc.
- Location: next to highway, far from city center

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emmen
3.9 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Emmen
3.6 mi away
Hotel ten Cate
Hotel ten Cate
#3 of 4 in Emmen
91 reviews
18.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Spier-Dwingeloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Assen
5.7 mi away
Center Parcs De Huttenheugte
9.7 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Hunzebergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Der Valk Hotel Emmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Der Valk Hotel Emmen

Property: Van Der Valk Hotel Emmen
Address: Verlengde Herendijk 50 | Nieuw Amsterdam, 7833 JD Emmen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Drenthe Province > Emmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Emmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van Der Valk Hotel Emmen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Van Der Valk Hotel Emmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing