We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comforts of home”
other travelers have booked this property
Under the Oaks - a farmhouse dating from 1836
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Under the Oaks - a farmhouse dating from 1836
Downstairs double bedroom Smart tv, sound system, WIFI, tourist information and a cupboard full of toys and games....
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Under the Oaks - a farmhouse dating from 1836
Downstairs double bedroom
Smart tv, sound system, WIFI, tourist information and a cupboard full of toys and games....
Lakes, forest, moorland.....
Via cornfields to 5,000 year old megalithic tombs
Large dining table for up to 12
One of the upstairs twin bedroom with washbasin, wardrobe and new boxspring beds
'Under the Oaks' in full bloom
One of the two bedrooms with a basin and wardrobe
Hall
Flora and fauna
The double bedroom complete with boxspring bed and LCD tv
Room with a view - one of the bedrooms upstairs
One of the many restaurants & cafes nearby
Fields with fresh vegetable stall - adjacent to 'Under the Oaks'
Bathroom with walk-in shower cubicle
Peace and tranquility - Diever
Twin bedroom (configured here as a single)
The beauty of Drenthe
Windmill, Diever
Even the bulb fields are just down the road!
Moorland, forest, sand dunes...
Archaeological museum in Diever
Rural Drenthe
Picnic in the vast national parks
Market day in Diever
Race in Diever
Frist over the meadows next to 'Under the Oaks'
Sunset on another day in Diever
'Under the Oaks' Farmhouse
Diever village in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Diever, Drenthe Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
tvgSussex
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comforts of home”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were very happy with our stay at Under the Oak. After long days of tour the Netherlands it quickly became a home away from home. Very economical for this family of 7 and married daughter and grandparents.
Quite and beautiful village of Diever with beauty of the old and two doors down from a small market place for the necessities of life. Great bike paths and hiking.
Thank you for your hospitably. Owner was very helpful. Even took me shopping the first night so I could get what this family needed while not knowing Dutch and getting over jetlag. Always sharing information about sites to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: economical
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMYLJ2013
Silver Bay, Minnesota
1 review
“By far the best rental experience I've ever had!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I have never taken the time to write a review for any of the many rental properties I have stayed. I have always been pleased and happy, but the owners of this property made our experience unforgettable! I communicated with them quite a bit, via email, prior to arrival and they were more than willing to answer any and every odd question I had. Upon arrival, they had arranged everything we could ever want or need for our stay. They went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. It truly was the best experience I have ever had and I hope to have the opportunity to visit and stay there again. I highly recommend this property for anyone considering a stay in the countryside of the the Netherlands. Wonderful home and environment! Thank you David, Monique and girls - we hope you enjoyed our song!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the owners, the quaint village and surrounding area . . . everything!
Liked least: It is quite a distance from the airport in Amsterdam, but so worth the drive! It was more than we had expected!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineR...
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at Under The Oaks in Diever!
We absolutely enjoy the gracious hospitality of owners David and Monique, the idyllic surroundings and the home itself. The owners always go out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. The home is very clean and spacious with many updates done to it over the years. When we arrive, we are welcomed to a gift basket full of delicious foods and drinks. David is there to show us around the home and bring us to the bike rental shop to get our bikes. The first time we came, four years ago, he gave us a tour of the town and the shops we might need use of. When we come to Under The Oaks we feel like it is our home away from home and I would say that the hospitality of the owners has a great deal to do with that. When they found out our son and his girlfriend got engaged a few days after we arrived at their home this summer, they came with a special cake for the occasion. During our stay in Diever, David went out of his way to locate tickets to the sold-out Military Tatoo in Edinbourgh after where we were traveling to. He helped us with purchasing train, bus and tour tickets to use during our stay in The Netherlands and Scotland. David and Monique's gracious hospitality goes far and beyond what most would expect and that is why we feel this is one of the best places to stay in The Netherlands.
The home itself has excellent features: The beds are comfortable, there is plenty of seating in the large living room, the eat-in kitchen has plenty of space, and refridgerator is amply large. Fantastic accommodations!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and hospitality.
Liked least: I can't think of anything.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean very comfortable spacious house and helpful advice, plus welcome pack.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vince P
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“i highly recommend this accomodation and location”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

very friendly owners couldnt do enough for us.
great base 20 minutes to assen race track .
very clean and tidy. very nice village
plenty of good resturants in walking distance.
supermarket 2 minute walk .
we would stay there again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 4, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large size for extended family, location, general good condition & Host on site
Liked least: One shower room
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jet661658
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing