We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Assen
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Assen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Selected by my local couterpart, this places looks very dated on the outside, but great inside. Lovely reception area and bar. The resturant was busy - mainly with single business people - served a large selection of inviting plentiful food. Boss and I had a pleaseant meal and decent bottle of wine.The gym states it opens at 9am, which is too late for working people, but the bedroom key card opens the door anytime and I wasn't the only one there at 6.30 am. Breakfast for a buffet of everything - I suggest working clockwise! The bedrooms are in a separate linked building from the public areas. The room was a decent size, with a desk and free wifi. The bathroom had a shower and a bath - bruised myself on the central tap, and too many towels for one person for one night. My company booked a meeting room for the next morning, which was ideal for our needs - small room for 5 people, projector, paper / pens tea / coffee, biscuits and light lunch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibsonsarah261171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 478 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

One time visit and still imprest and surprised, a modern hotel whit a very friendly staff.
The food (diner and breakfast) was delicious, the rooms very good and nice to stay. Even the nearby highway was not a problem, only the hotel was therefore easy to vind.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDear1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We visited this hotel 2 times and we remember being very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. This was not my first time in a Van der Valk hotel but this is the most modern/luxurious one I have visited.

This hotel is close to the highway and therefor easy to reach. This can also be a disadvantage as it means you will hear the highway at night. It is not too loud though and coming from a very urban area myself I hardly noticed it. The hotel is approximately 2 km from the city centre which was not a problem for us as we travelled by car. This also allowed us to travel in the area of Assen which has many small towns and the old Nazi camp at Westerbork. All in all this location was ideal for us as we could easily visit all the nice things in the area with the hotel as our basis.

The rooms in this hotel are excellent as they are very spacious with comfortable beds. The bathroom contains both a shower and a bath which is great. The rooms are quite far from the reception area (you have to walk through the part of the complex where the conference rooms are) but because of this you will not hear any sound from the reception/bar/restaurant when in your room.

We love the restaurant in this hotel. The staff is very friendly and you get great value for money. The menu is quite standard but that is what you expect in a Van der Valk hotel. The quality of the food is excellent though, no complaints there whatsoever. It is open until 23:00 and the first night we arrived at 22:30 and were still able to get something to eat. My girlfriend and me both love to enjoy our food and wine and the second night we spent about 3,5 hours in the restaurant, just enjoying our food and being helped by a great waiter that recommended some good wines to go with the various dishes and even recommended an off-menu desert (cheese plate) which was very nice. We did not expect this in a Van der Valk hotel.

Overall we can highly recommend this hotel and I wouldn't be surprised if we went back again for a third visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bastiaan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Lovely hotel, close to TT Circuit which was ideal for us. Hotel very modern, food lovely in the restaurant and bar lounge. Breakfast more than adequate...beautiful. Staff very friendly, Johan (barman) excellent and brilliant with children. Highly recommend this hotel, and certainly will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were with a very large group for 4 nights. We had a standard room in the old wing. It was adequate, but NO TISSUES/KLEENEX in the rooms. As I had a cold, this was not appreciated.
The bed was comfortable, except the duvets which don't allow for any adjustment for temperature.
The restaurant food was delicious. One server was rude, trying to be funny, and the other one a delight.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a comfort deluxe room for 10 nights and it was superb. Great room, great bathroom.... Very clean. The food was good, the bar and restaurant areas are very nice. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed over 5 or 6 times now. Staff is friendly and rooms are spacious. The new wing has better value for money as the rooms are newer. Today I got un upgrade to a junior suite in the new wing. The suite is really great with a stand alone bathtub with wirlpool and everything is in white. Love it!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assen
1.7 mi away
Best Western City Hotel De Jonge
0.9 mi away
De Bonte Wever
De Bonte Wever
#3 of 3 in Assen
206 reviews
12.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Spier-Dwingeloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Ruyghe Venne
11.8 mi away
Fletcher Familiehotel Paterswolde
23.9 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel Emmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Assen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Assen

Address: Balkenweg 1, 9405 CC, Assen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Drenthe Province > Assen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Assen
Price Range: $100 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Assen 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Assen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing