We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bleakhouse Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bleak House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bleak House Cottage
Night falls at Bleak House Cottage. Enjoying evening sun at Bleak House Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Bleak House Cottage
Night falls at Bleak House Cottage.
Enjoying evening sun at Bleak House Cottage
Perfect location to relax and unwind
Cottage dating back to 17th Century
EaCottagerly Summer at Bleak House
Lounge
Lounge through to kitchen
Kitchen through to dinning room and on to bedroom
Bedroom through to bathroom
Direct access to a wide range of cycle routes as well as secure bike storage
Ease of access
A magical  summer sunrise from Bleak House Cottage
Long or short walks straight from the front door.
A perfect sunset at the Roaches
Secret Britain's - Lud's Church
The mysteriously hauntingly beautiful Mermaid Pool. Up the lane from Bleak House Cottage.
Thors Cave - Close to Bleak House Cottage
Dovedale, heart of the Peak Park
Chatsworth Country House
Directions to the  undiscovered Peak District
Walking beside the River Manifold
Above the Manifold Valley
Walking Chrome Hill - the Dragons Back
A carpet of gold in an autumn walk at Beresford Dale near Bleak House Cottage
Waterside Walking at Beresford Dale
Beresford Dale relaxed walking near to Bleak House Cottage
Bleak House Cottage beautiful all year round. Winter Sunset
Walking on the Roaches - December
Autumn glory at Rudyard Lake
Waterside walking at Rudyard Lake in autumn
Take a balloon at sunrise across the countryside, memorable!
The end of a perfect break. Memories made with a promise to return!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Longnor, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charlotte...
1 review
“Bleakhouse Cottage”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cottage is the perfect idyll for escape. Beautiful surroundings, home from home amenities. Lots of beautiful places to visit in easy reach. The owner is lovely and friendly and very helpful and welcoming. Hope to go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. You were great guests to host and left the cottage spotless. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
192Vaness...
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tranquillity ”
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My husband and I visited Bleak house for a short break with our beloveded dog Floyd. The cottage itself has everything you could possibly need. Lovely log burner,cosy, modern retreat. A place to get away from it all and reconnect with nature and each other. Loved the fact we could walk straight out the door,surrounded by fields plus beautiful views. Very central to nearby attractions, dog friendly walks and cafe's. Ideal place to get away from it all. Maria is a fantastic host and happy to help. Excellent welcome hamper with wine and cake. Just a perfect break overall in a gorgeous part of the world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
Thank you for you lovely review. You were all, including Floyd, delightful guests to host and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pet698x
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a wonderful stay at a beautiful cosy cottage .. with all that we could ever need shame it just wasn't cold enough to use the log burner but maybe next time ... clean white linen bedding and towels , kitchen with everything in it , fabulous shower and so warm when returning back from our long walks , tv and wifi . Maria ... what an absolutely amazing hostess who was so kind and thoughtful . The little touches of prosecco ,cake and fresh flowers meant so much too . We will be returning later in the year !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2017
Thank you for you kind review. You were absolutely delightful guests and would like to thank you for leaving the cottage spotless. We look forward to welcoming you all back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanW1341
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply heavenly”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a beautiful cosy cottage in a peaceful location yet with good access to major roads. Every little detail has been done with love. Maria was a wonderful hostess and gave us lots of information and guidance for days out and for the best places to eat. The welcome hamper with Prosecco and lemon drizzle cake was a lovely touch, too.
The log burner made for cosy evenings.
We left here sad to say goodbye but refreshed and will certainly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
Hello Jan,
Thank you for your kind review. You were great guests to host and I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Bleak House Cottage. Thanks also for taking the time to leave the cottage
immaculate . We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
Dear Peter and Brunhillde,
Thank you for your kind review . You came as strangers but left a dear friends. We hope to welcome you back to your home in the Peak District in the not too distant future.
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
harker_pa...
Lacombe, Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely quiet retreat in the beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in this lovely cottage in the middle of the Peak district. We were able to buy groceries nearby and cook in the cottage if we liked, or go out to one of the many restaurants close by. The log burner was cozy in the evenings. We loved just heading out the door for a run or walk, especially close to sunrise or sunset when the colours were amazing! We had everything we needed for cooking, the bed was comfy, the Wifi and SKY tv worked well, and Maria was a gracious hostess. We especially appreciated the local guidebooks and maps.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful countryside
Liked least: The bed was comfy but the springs creaked. There was a step down into the bathroom, making it a little bit of a risk during the night.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2016
Thank you for your review and I hope you had a safe journey home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DParker21
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Absolutely amazing!!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Bleak House Cottage is an amazing cozy place to stay in the Peak District. We had a lovely short break there - just wish we could have stayed longer. Maria was a delight and very knowledgeable about the area - the recommendations for places to eat were spot on and our welcome hamper was a lovely surprise! We (and our dog) will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you had a lovely stay and hope to welcome you all back in the future. Thank you for leaving the cottage so tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing