We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely quiet retreat in the beautiful countryside.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bleak House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bleak House Cottage
Enjoying evening sun at Bleak House Cottage Perfect location to relax and unwind
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Bleak House Cottage
Enjoying evening sun at Bleak House Cottage
Perfect location to relax and unwind
Cottage dating back to 17th Century
EaCottagerly Summer at Bleak House
Lounge
Lounge through to kitchen
Kitchen through to dinning room and on to bedroom
Beautiful Bedroom
Bedroom through to bathroom
Ease of access
Direct access to a wide range of cycle routes as well as secure bike storage
A magical  summer sunrise from Bleak House Cottage
Long or short walks straight from the front door.
Brooding Roaches close to Bleak House Cottage
A perfect sunset at the Roaches
Secret Britain's - Lud's Church
The mysteriously hauntingly beautiful Mermaid Pool. Up the lane from Bleak House Cottage.
Thors Cave - Close to Bleak House Cottage
Dovedale, heart of the Peak Park
Chatsworth Country House
Directions to the  undiscovered Peak District
Walking beside the River Manifold
Above the Manifold Valley
Walking Chrome Hill - the Dragons Back
A carpet of gold in an autumn walk at Beresford Dale near Bleak House Cottage
Waterside Walking at Beresford Dale
Beresford Dale relaxed walking near to Bleak House Cottage
Bleak House Cottage beautiful all year round. Winter Sunset
Walking on the Roaches - December
Autumn glory at Rudyard Lake
Waterside walking at Rudyard Lake in autumn
Take a balloon at sunrise across the countryside, memorable!
The end of a perfect break. To stay, go home or a promise to return!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Longnor, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
harker_pa...
Lacombe, Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely quiet retreat in the beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in this lovely cottage in the middle of the Peak district. We were able to buy groceries nearby and cook in the cottage if we liked, or go out to one of the many restaurants close by. The log burner was cozy in the evenings. We loved just heading out the door for a run or walk, especially close to sunrise or sunset when the colours were amazing! We had everything we needed for cooking, the bed was comfy, the Wifi and SKY tv worked well, and Maria was a gracious hostess. We especially appreciated the local guidebooks and maps.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful countryside
Liked least: The bed was comfy but the springs creaked. There was a step down into the bathroom, making it a little bit of a risk during the night.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2016
Thank you for your review and I hope you had a safe journey home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DParker21
2 reviews
“Absolutely amazing!!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Bleak House Cottage is an amazing cozy place to stay in the Peak District. We had a lovely short break there - just wish we could have stayed longer. Maria was a delight and very knowledgeable about the area - the recommendations for places to eat were spot on and our welcome hamper was a lovely surprise! We (and our dog) will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you had a lovely stay and hope to welcome you all back in the future. Thank you for leaving the cottage so tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newsully
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in the heart of the Peak District”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fantastic week and really enjoyed all the great recommendations that Maria mentioned to us! Such a warm welcome, including some prosecco and a delicious lemon drizzle cake. Maria was particularly helpful and couldn't have done more when our dog was poorly.

Perfect location in the middle of everything, lovely walks, places to eat and interesting villages and towns to visit. We really enjoyed the Monsal Head walk and our day at Chatsworth and Bakewell!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Thank you for you kind review. You were great guests to host. I was so glad to help and appreciate you leaving the cottage so tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garytonsl...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Birthday treat was a treat”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

From the moment we booked the cottage Maria was a delight assisting me with directions and recommendations.

As for the cottage itself; wow! You can tell it has been constructed and furnished with love and we enjoyed every second of our stay in it.

We sampled the local scenic and foodal delights and together with the idilic place we called hole for three nights made it a birthday to remember for my boyfriend.

I would highly recommend the cottage to those wanting a romantic and relaxing break. We couldn't have asked for a more lovely and helpful host than Maria.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
Thank you so much for your great review. The cottage was created with love and I am so happy that you enjoyed yourselves. You were the perfect guests. We wish you lots of happiness and hopefully see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

If you want a cosy, warm, clean and nicely furnished cottage, with great scenery on your doorstep, then Bleak House Cottage is definitely the place! The cottage is owned by a very lovely lady called Maria, who is more than happy to help in anyway she can. Although the cottage is attached to the main house you would have never have known as you couldn't hear a sound. Walking by day and sitting by the log burner by night is my idea of a perfect weekend and I would recommend this charming cottage to anyone wanting a relaxing and quiet weekend in the breathtaking surroundings of the Peak District.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell M
Crewe
1 review
“A Little Gem within the Peak District”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Bleak House Cottage is an idyllic one bedroom cottage, attached to the main house, situated within the peak districts national park. It is situated in a secluded spot but still as access to a good road network to get you out and about. The cottage is ideally situated for Buxton, Bakewell and Leek. It makes an ideal base for those interested in exploring the Staffordshire & Derbyshire Peak District. There are many local attractions and many fine dinning establishments within a realistic distance of the cottage. This said it's also a lovely and cosy place for a night in.

Would recommend it to anyone and will definitely be revisiting Maria (owner) again this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and remoteness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2016
Thank you for your great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forwards to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmine02
Mosta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The highlight of our holiday!”
Reviewed January 14, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The cottage is very beautiful, peaceful, clean and the log burner makes it too cozy - perfect for two! We loved every second in it! Pity it was just for a couple of nights! Above all, we appreciated the very friendly welcome by Maria and family. We very much hope to return again soon!

Thank you Maria - the cottage was the highlight of our break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2016
Hello,
Thank you for your kind review. You were a joy to have stay and very much hope we can welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing