We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crewe & Harpur
Nearby Hotels
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$65
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbots Mead Hotel(Shrewsbury)
$94
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Shrewsbury Hotel(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Hill Hotel(Shrewsbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
83
16
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
16
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesbar areamain buildingpeak venuesthe kitchenbirthday partyhigh standardget togetherthe pubamazing weekendroyal oakhen weekendlarge grouplocal breweryfriends and familyfish and chip shopbrilliant venue
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 107 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2007

We booked this hotel on the strength of Trip Advisor ratings and the hotel website. Beware!! The staff were very friendly and helpful but this place has its faults. On the first morning we were wakened at 5-00am by the noisy plumbing then at 7-15 by the fire alarm. Smoke was coming into the room and I went to investigate. The alarm stopped then started on and off for 20 mins. It turned out to be a stockpot which had been left on overnight. Little was said at breakfast by the staff but most guests made comments about the chaos. The service at breakfast was poor. No menu at all.
We ate at night and the chicken my partner ordered was undercooked so she sent it back. It was dealt with well and she enjoyed the meal.
The next morning the service was excellent and the breakfast choices explained well. The cheap yoghurt probably bought from the local shop was poor but the rest of the breakfast ok.
When we paid the bill and mentioned our problems the owner
charged us less which was good, but also said the hot water had been off too the previous day!! Overall an expensive place that could ,with minor changes, be excellent

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zellam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2007

Very comfortable recently renovated old English inn. Room spacious and modern with great en-suite and full controllable Sky TV on big plasma . (Bedside lamps, door hooks and an extra bedside table would complete.) View onto peaceful cobbled village square serene. Food is top quality, from scallops and steak rossini, to the definitive full English breakfast. Charming staff and owners.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank Bhunabeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

Booked a short mid-week break at the Crewe and Harpur Arms, Longnor, Derbyshire. Quite tricky to find but a real gem that shouldn't go un-noticed. A lot of work has gone in to developing this establishment and it really shows. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with very smart en-suites. These could do with a little finishing off, but on the whole the ambience was chilled and relaxing.
Fine food, an excellent wine list and well kept ales only added to the experience. The chef was very accomodating to requests and the menu covered all tastes.
We only spent two nights there but came away feeling almost part of the family. Everyone there was polite and friendly - and I think this, more than anything made our stay so great. We drove away already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2006

My partner and I stayed there on a very snowy winters night, it was an amazing winter wonderland. The service was excellent, the owners were very friendly and accomodating. The room was extremely clean with good tv, tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom was amazing, with underfloor heating, fabulous for a cold winters morning. The food was splendid, we haven't had steak like it since. Full English breakfast was also great. It was a shame we couldn't stay longer. We would highly recommend The Crewe and Harpur Arms and will be over again soon hopefully. Very romantic with the scenery on the doorstep. And the old fashioned Narnia style lamppost looked wonderful in the snow.

Stayed: March 2006
1  Thank pinkbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2006

My fiancee and I stayed here for a couple of nights in October.

After a poor night previously in a chain hotel we were in the mood for something a bit better and truly found it here. We booked one of the larger rooms at £80 a night B&B (contrary to some of the prices I'd seen on the net).

Room was average size but done out nicely with a very luxurious bed and a flat screen/ sky digital combo, possibly scope to add somewhere to store a suitcase but otherwise very good. Bathroom was miles from the decorating by numbers affair in the other hotel. Underfloor heating was a very nice touch, along with good shower and a bath which could probably house most of a rugby team.

Food was exceptional, as you'd expect from somewhere with its own fine dining restaurant. We ate in the bar although this didnt stop us chosing from the restaurant menu - the staff we were friendly and accomodating. Wine list was a bit pricey - but it would in any case be rude not to have sampled some of the peak district ales on tap.

In summary its a bit pricey compared to some others but well worth it if you fancy a couple of days in luxury while in a position to travel anywhere in the peaks for a day trip.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PhilCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews