We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Derbyshire Retreat”

Review of Oak Tree Farm

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Longnor, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
loupetlid
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Derbyshire Retreat”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just had a fantastic family gathering in Oak Tree Farm. It was spacious enough to enable both togetherness and independence. It is large and roomy without being austere and pretentious. The garden was delightful, surrounded by beautiful countryside. The farmhouse is superbly equipped and we all loved the large Aga for making our family meals. A really sociable kitchen with an island to chill around and prep at. I would have no hesitation in recommending this as a perfect retreat for any large family / friends gathering - perfect in every way and so relaxed. The addition of a comfortable easy chair in the master bedroom would have added to the comfort for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high level of internal decor and facilities and the Aga
Liked least: The number of different steps and levels in the entrance hall - sadly one of us had a fall.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma Pa...
1 review
“TOTALLY AMAZING HOUSE, VIEWS & WEEKEND”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I have just finished my stay at the oak tree farm from the 27.02.2015 – 02.03.2012.

I had the most amazing time in the house it’s a truly beautiful house with amazing views! Every room was perfect to cater for a large group and we have already talked about staying again!

great pubs in sourounding villages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the aga oven, makes it so easy to cook for large groups.
Liked least: wifi doesnt connect upstairs as house is so big
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofe H
1 review
“Cosy yet spacious”
Reviewed January 29, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We are a group of 14 adults 2dogs and a toddler and this property worked well for all. Great communal areas perfect for socialising together.
For a large property in winter it definitely wasn't cold! The aga kept the kitchen toasty and the underfloor heating in the dining/lounge was more than adequate. The wood burner in the snug rounded off a lovely country feel.
Great location too went for several walks in the surrounding area and the pubs in the area we lovely too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmu77
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
“Fabulous family get together!”
Reviewed November 29, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

2nd stay at Oak Tree Farm. Beautiful location and accomodation. Masses of room for a party of 5 couples, lots of kids aged 4 months to 16 years. Excellent arrival/departure arrangements. Good communication prior to visit via email.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Only one dishwasher!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josiemoss
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“ideal location for large family gathering. simply stunning”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

key collection easy (with the most fabulous lunch we could have asked for at the Royal Oak) check in and tour of the house by the loveliest gentleman (sorry, don't know you name!)

oak tree farm is fantastic. there were 21 of us and we had enough space to not be on top of each other. Kids had a wonderful time in the garden even in wet November. 2 lounges meant kids could hide out and play games while adults chatted. Bedrooms all brilliant size and adaptable to needs by making doubles/twins etc.

Kitchen was very well equipped (take own tea towels though) loved the fact that there was such a good selection of crockery for the younger children (plastic cups, forks and plates etc)

Can't wait to revisit, hopefully in the summer to make most of BBQ's and that garden and view!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie...
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing, luxurious house in a great location, ideal for large groups”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing weekend at Oak Tree Farm with 16 of us - the house was amazing, fantastic entertaining areas, facilities, gardens. Would highly recommend this to others looking for accommodation for large groups.

Only things to watch out for is mobile signal on some networks isn't great in the area but the house has great free wifi access so you can contact people by email, imessage, whatsapp etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ability to entertain and sit a large group of people in one place
Liked least: No phone signal (not the properties fault though)
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahrd B
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a place and what a weekend”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was given the job of being the Bestman for my brothers wedding and I thought that booking a great stag do was going to be the hardest thing i would ever do, But the service I was given and all the help I recieved while booking Oak Tree Farm made my job very easy from day 1 to when the stag do was over and keys where handed back. ( Shame I had to give the keys back, i could of stayed forever )

The property itself was amazing, could not of asked for a better location and they provided all the services that we required for the weekend. It offers so much space in the proerty and the garden was easily big enough for a group of lads to have a kick about and enjoy a BBQ in the sun.

I would recommend this property to anybody wheather it be a family break or even a group booking.

On a last note if it was not for Peak Venues help and support along the way I think I would of hit rock bottom and the Stag do may not of gone as well as it did. I would recommened Peak Venes to anybody who is looking for a break like we had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing