We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Lapwing Barns
View of Lapwing from the field below
View from the properties
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
13 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 30
Longnor, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SharnaKha...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Booked in at Lapwing Barns for a midweek stay as a group of 30. Blown away by the accommodation and the fact that it seemed to go on for ever! More than enough room for everyone to socialise together and perfect corners for those who wanted peace and quiet to sneak off too. Amazing space for children on the front lawn and in the games room. Check in & Check out were smooth transitions, the staff were extremely helpful coming up to the stay providing relevant information & easily contactable throughout the stay. Extremely positive feedback from everyone in the group on how much they loved the venue & the experience. Will definitely be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope we can welcome you to another Peak Venues property again in the near future. Kind regards, the Peak Venues Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellcee2
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend get-together in a gorgeous location.”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Booked lapwing Barns to accommodate 30 mixed age family members. The accommodation was superb, well appointed, good quality, well maintained, superbly located and equipped with everything we might need. The setting is spectacular, beautiful views, absolute quiet - except for birdsong and cows and who minds that? The house, with its 13 bedrooms, offered us all a lovely space to relax, comfortable beds and great communal areas. We came home happy, refreshed and looking forward to the next get together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Noise does carry through the property - beware late night revellers and babies!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P
1 review
“Dr”
Reviewed November 27, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Amazing property. Great living space and kitchen which was perfect for our group of 25. The whole property was tastefully decorated and the beds super comfy. We'd definitely book it again. Thanks for a great holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxyWM
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect for what we needed”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I travelled to Lapwing Barns for a company weekend away with 17 colleagues. The house was perfect for us as we were able to all have our own beds. This is always an issue when looking for a large group space as double beds only sleep one, rather than two. Having the option to choose double or twin configurations is extremely valuable.

There were several nice and comfortable spaces to use to sit and relax or chat with others and a big table in the main room where we could all fit to play games, eat or chat.

The furnishings were very comfortable but were also reassuringly solid so that I didn't have to worry too much about my colleagues getting a bit excitable.

We cooked a BBQ one evening with the amazing view in front of us and we also used the fish and chip shop in Longnor one evening which is highly recommended. They dealt well with our large order.

The booking process was brilliant and even though it was all done on line I didn't feel detached from the individuals making the arrangements for us. Picking up and returning the keys was very easy.

I would really recommend this house to any large groups. I'll be looking for a reason to book it on a personal basis anyway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the quality of the furnishings.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie782
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant venue for a family gathering!”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our extended family of 29 from ages 1 to 71, stayed at Lapwing Barns for the weekend and it far exceeded our expectations. The quality of the refurbishment was excellent and as good as the photos--everywhere clean and tidy. The beds were very comfortable with beautiful cotton sheets. Most bedrooms are en suite or at the most shared between 2 rooms.The kitchen was well equipped and the second oven and dishwasher useful. We had an amazing time, enjoying family meals where all of us could sit together at the huge dining table (something that was important for us but a lot of venues I checked out couldn't provide).The views from the garden were incredible and the whole place completely private. The lawned garden was used for family games and the drum BBQ coped perfectly with all the food needed for Sunday supper. The venue design and layout meant we could all be together at any time but could also enjoy private spaces with plenty of quiet corners with comfy seating to curl up in. I cannot recommend Lapwing Barns highly enough and more importantly Peak Venues who looked after us from initial booking through to the actual holiday. We will be booking again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the venue
Liked least: Needed more fridge space
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debs G
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous property for a large group.”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I hired Lapwing Barns for a group of friends to celebrate my 60th, well the third phase of the celebrations anyway:) we arrived at The Royal Oak on Friday to collect the keys, and had a light lunch. The owner came to Lapwing Barns to show us everything, and it was beautiful! 13 bedrooms including a four double room annexe, all en suite. The main house was so well furnished and equipped; it was better than anticipated. Everything we needed for the group was provided, from a 26-seat table to foil and cling film. The beds and bedding were hotel quality, and there was enough crockery, cutlery and glassware for all our needs. Two modern range cookers, a secondary kitchen, two dishwashers and laundry room coped with all meals, including one provided by an excellent caterer, Dining In of Buxton, on the Saturday night. I had arranged a delivery from Leek Waitrose, which was delivered on the first day, and they also provided champagne flutes free of charge. I also contacted a local butcher, Strangedge Grange, who were kind enough to deliver sausages, bacon, eggs etc twice over the weekend. The property also has a games room with a large drinks fridge which was really handy. We even managed to have a BBQ on the Sunday. This is a fantastic property for a group, and we hope to return.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannahj14...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing weekend in a superb place.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I spent a weekend here with 16 other girls for my hen weekend in April. We had all 3 barns. Sorting out and making arrangements prior to our stay was no problem, anyone we spoke to was happy to help. The barns are amazing. They are in a beautiful location and even though nice and out of the way, places like Buxton and Ashbourne and Chatsworth house easy to reach. The barns were clean, everything was thought of and not a single thing to complain about!
The venue suited our needs perfectly.
Thanks for a great weekend :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing