We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous property for a large group.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Lapwing Barns
View of Lapwing from the field below
View from the properties
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
13 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 30
Longnor, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debs G
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous property for a large group.”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I hired Lapwing Barns for a group of friends to celebrate my 60th, well the third phase of the celebrations anyway:) we arrived at The Royal Oak on Friday to collect the keys, and had a light lunch. The owner came to Lapwing Barns to show us everything, and it was beautiful! 13 bedrooms including a four double room annexe, all en suite. The main house was so well furnished and equipped; it was better than anticipated. Everything we needed for the group was provided, from a 26-seat table to foil and cling film. The beds and bedding were hotel quality, and there was enough crockery, cutlery and glassware for all our needs. Two modern range cookers, a secondary kitchen, two dishwashers and laundry room coped with all meals, including one provided by an excellent caterer, Dining In of Buxton, on the Saturday night. I had arranged a delivery from Leek Waitrose, which was delivered on the first day, and they also provided champagne flutes free of charge. I also contacted a local butcher, Strangedge Grange, who were kind enough to deliver sausages, bacon, eggs etc twice over the weekend. The property also has a games room with a large drinks fridge which was really handy. We even managed to have a BBQ on the Sunday. This is a fantastic property for a group, and we hope to return.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannahj14...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing weekend in a superb place.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I spent a weekend here with 16 other girls for my hen weekend in April. We had all 3 barns. Sorting out and making arrangements prior to our stay was no problem, anyone we spoke to was happy to help. The barns are amazing. They are in a beautiful location and even though nice and out of the way, places like Buxton and Ashbourne and Chatsworth house easy to reach. The barns were clean, everything was thought of and not a single thing to complain about!
The venue suited our needs perfectly.
Thanks for a great weekend :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma G
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for large family get together”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We hired all 3 houses for a family birthday get together. The accommodation was perfect, allowing us enough space to eat together but to have our own space as well. Each house was comfortable and cosy with good kitchen and bathroom facilities. The views were spectacular and we were able to walk straight out into the open spaces of the Peak District.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace W
Greetham, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing setting with all you need and more”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had an early family christmas followed by a naming ceremony and the owners bent over backwards to make everything work for us. An amazing view with lovely cottages with everything we needed, even two big fridges which was brilliant and a well equipped kitchen.
We all loved it with cows mooing and amazing hills and great friends and family.
Thank you.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janlouz
wigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning location, well appointed, comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend break at Lapwing House. We are a group of 12 adults, family and friends, and booked all three cottages. All properties are well appointed and very comfortable. The kitchen in Lapwing House had everything you could think of in the way of equipment and (with the addition of the small table from Ash Barn) easily accommodated all 12 for dining.
The only downside is the lounge. There is very limited comfortable seating and although it didn't spoil our stay, some of the group had to make do with cushions on the floor. The large dining tables in the lounge just seemed to be in the way. There is a small 'snug' but not much use to us as we all wanted to be together in the evening.
We also decided not to use the ensuite bedroom in Lapwing House so that it gave us an extra bathroom for everyone to use.
These are very minor criticisms, just our view on how the properties could be improved when used by a large group of people. We had a very enjoyable time and wouldn't hesitate in recommending the properties to groups similar to ours. We would love to stay again in summer, the views are outstanding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickst
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings with all mod cons”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed here with extended family. Lovely views out over fields and very quiet. Only hired Lapwing House but even though the adjacent cottages are tacked on to the main house, there was no noise from the neighbours.
The house itself has very creaky floors and thin walls so don't hire it if you all have different bedtimes! Sharing a bathroom between three rooms may be a problem if you're not a family too.
Apart from those nitpicks, there were plenty of mod cons: all the cooking stuff you could need and two massive fridges.
Near to lots of places to see and a useful local shop just down the road.
Fantastic for dogs, footpaths galore on the doorstep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of bathrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly14m
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage in gorgeous surroundings!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Just returned from a fab weekend at Lapwing Barn for a friends hen party! Perfect location with stylishly decorated accommodation! Would definitely recommend for any get group get together or one of the smaller barns for families!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing