We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“There perfect place for a family holiday.”
other travelers have booked this property
Overbrook Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overbrook Barn
Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Overbrook Barn
Bedroom 1
Living room and kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom 3
Bridleway
Alpacas
Alpacas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Longnor, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ClaraT60
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“There perfect place for a family holiday.”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have stayed in many holiday homes in many countries over the past 40 years, and we have to say that Overbrook Barn is one of the best. It is peaceful, comfortable, cosy, well equipped, and in the perfect location for the many places to visit and things to do in the Peak District. We cooked in the amazingly well equipped kitchen, had barbecues in the peaceful garden looking at the lovely views, went horse riding in the stables just up the hill, went to Clonter Opera just 30 minutes away, shopped in Buxton, ate at some of the many local pubs and restaurants, visited Chatsworth, took long walks from the doorstep as well as over Ramshaws Rocks and the Roaches ... We could easily have stayed a month and still found new things to do. The owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. We will certainly be back soon!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, safe location away from traffic, comfy beds, logburner
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomps78
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Farbrook Farm (Overbrook Barn) Quarnford Buxton”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here as a group of 8, and can honestly say what a magnificent place, the barn was immaculate and modern,the surrounding rolling hillsides were beautiful and the Host Gemma couldn't do enough to make our stay more welcoming.

Date of stay: June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful break away from the city!”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were a group of 5 adults and two children (2 and 9 mths) who stayed for 4 nights in June. We'd travelled from London based on reviews and am pleased to say we were not disappointed.
Beautiful barn, stunning location and fantastically quiet! The only noise was from the sheep which was a million times better than the sirens and Heathrow flight path we have day to day at home.

Gemma and Simon were very accommodating and very friendly and pointed us in the right direction for things to do and see,

The barn and surroundings are ideal for young and old and the 2 year old loved the sheep, ducks and alpacas (so did the adults!)

We would highly recommend a stay here for the above reasons plus its ideally located for a quick drive in to Buxton or Bakewell

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The quietness of the area
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisH834
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend hideaway!”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Six of us descended here for a weekend away from it all; lovely location near some fantastic views, very comfortable, everything you need provided, good wifi and lots of logs for the burner if you need them. The friendly owners say 'hello' if they see you but otherwise leave you to it. No complaints whatsoever!

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn_k35
Carrog
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy, with fantastic views”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed at Overbrook Barn to celebrate a 90th birthday. Seven adults and one baby all had a very comfortable stay in spotlessly clean accommodation. The barn is compact and cosy with everything there that you could possibly need, even a log burner which we did not light despite the very cold evenings. We did lots of walking around the area enjoying the lambs, pigs and, of course, the alpacas. A delightful spot to stay and would certainly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable beds.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra...
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely, comfortable and relaxing stay”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

An amazing little gem in a breathtakingly beautiful location. The property has amazing walks and views.
The barn is tastefully decorated and is very comfortable and is extremely well equip with everything and more that you would expect to find in your own home. We arrived after a long journey to a roaring fire and to find that Gemma had very kindly unpacked our online grocery delivery, such a treat and personal touch after a long journey.
We were made to feel very welcome and thourally enjoyed our holiday at the barn.
My little boy was absolutely tickled with the alpacas and also loved the family dog Faust.

I would highly recommed this holiday rental.

Date of stay: February 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costandin...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a prefect stay! What else could one want?”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There were 6 of us. 3 couples. We absolutely loved it. I wish I was eloquent and could say it perfectly but I'll struggle to find the words that does it justice. Simon and Gemma have done a terrific job and really friendly. it was all super. The farm, the land, the walks, the fresh air, the ales, the cooking in and playing board games by the fire place, the waking up to nature, the complete silence. So much more to say. If you are looking to stay at the Peaks just book this place. Do not think. Just book. Believe me. Absolutely stunning and beautiful. You will rejuvenate.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Unable to pick one thing. It was all the best
Liked least: Nothing. Loved it all
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing