We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm and cosy, with fantastic views”
other travelers have booked this property
Overbrook Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overbrook Barn
Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Overbrook Barn
Bedroom 1
Living room and kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom 3
Bridleway
Overbrook Barn
Alpacas
Alpacas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Longnor, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lyn_k35
Carrog
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy, with fantastic views”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed at Overbrook Barn to celebrate a 90th birthday. Seven adults and one baby all had a very comfortable stay in spotlessly clean accommodation. The barn is compact and cosy with everything there that you could possibly need, even a log burner which we did not light despite the very cold evenings. We did lots of walking around the area enjoying the lambs, pigs and, of course, the alpacas. A delightful spot to stay and would certainly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable beds.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra...
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely, comfortable and relaxing stay”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

An amazing little gem in a breathtakingly beautiful location. The property has amazing walks and views.
The barn is tastefully decorated and is very comfortable and is extremely well equip with everything and more that you would expect to find in your own home. We arrived after a long journey to a roaring fire and to find that Gemma had very kindly unpacked our online grocery delivery, such a treat and personal touch after a long journey.
We were made to feel very welcome and thourally enjoyed our holiday at the barn.
My little boy was absolutely tickled with the alpacas and also loved the family dog Faust.

I would highly recommed this holiday rental.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costandin...
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a prefect stay! What else could one want?”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There were 6 of us. 3 couples. We absolutely loved it. I wish I was eloquent and could say it perfectly but I'll struggle to find the words that does it justice. Simon and Gemma have done a terrific job and really friendly. it was all super. The farm, the land, the walks, the fresh air, the ales, the cooking in and playing board games by the fire place, the waking up to nature, the complete silence. So much more to say. If you are looking to stay at the Peaks just book this place. Do not think. Just book. Believe me. Absolutely stunning and beautiful. You will rejuvenate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Unable to pick one thing. It was all the best
Liked least: Nothing. Loved it all
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diegulins...
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location in the Peak District”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had an amazing long weekend in the Peak District in the Overbrook Barn. We arrived on Thursday late evening (around 10pm) and the area was full of snow! Thank to Gemma's indications we arrived easily at the location. The house was warm and very cozy.
Just woke up, we realized to stay in a sort of heaven.
The house and the kitchen were very well furnished. From the Overbrook Barn, we have reached Buxton in less than 15 minutes and Bakewell in almost 40. It's a very nice place if you like the nature, the Alpacas are very funny animals.
If we will go again in the peak district I will sure go back there, so I really recommand it.
Thanks to Gemma and her family, for the warm hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was in amazing condition and full furnished
Liked least: Just the mattress were a bit soft
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and countryside”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

What a beautiful place to stay, we stayed in the week between Christmas and New Year and had snow which just added to the magic of our week. Gemma and Simon cannot do enough for you and the Cottage is set up for every eventuality and is very comfortable. I would definately recommend Overbrook Barn as a place to enjoy the countryside and relax

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane N
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We found a real gem!”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

There comes a time in life when you go on holiday and choose to settle for nothing less than you have at home when it comes to comfort, cleanliness etc. Overbrook Barn offered this and so much more. From the excitement when first spotting the barn, surrounded by fields of sheep and Alpacas, to closing the door to this beautifully presented 'home from home' at the end of our stay, nothing disappointed. The barn offers a lovely retreat feel and you can't help but chill from the moment you walk through the door and first view the beautiful stylish interior. Although thermal attire was the order of the day for walking, within the barn it was as cosy as can be. The kitchen is very well appointed and cooking for 6 adults was a breeze. Everywhere was immaculate from decor to bedding and fresh flowers on the dining table for our arrival perfectly represented the care, consideration and professionalism offered by our hosts Gemma & Simon. Do go, you'll love it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort and cleanliness of property
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tizi971
1 review
“a beautiful barn in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed November 7, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We loved staying at Overbrook Barn for a long weekend! the barn was clean and homely and had everything we needed!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing