We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
$40
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$71
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbots Mead Hotel(Shrewsbury)
$95
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Hill Hotel(Shrewsbury)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$107
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Longmynd(Church Stretton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
253
34
6
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
253
34
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tublongnor woodon arrivalrelaxing breaklocal pubwinking manmaple lodgedecking arealovely touchsat navwalk in wardrobelog cabintouring caravandog washan adultdog walking fieldwashing up liquid
Filter
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 299 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is an ideal place to get away from it all - off the beaten track so you can't hear any traffic but close enough to the road so not to be isolated, no clubhouse, no children, perfect! The welcome was friendly and extremely helpful, the lodge very clean and modern although do take a pint glass (preferably plastic if you're drinking in the hot tub).

We stayed in a deluxe lodge (Maple) and the hot tub was very private and no noise from any of the other lodges which were fully occupied. Only downside was the bed was very creaky and kept waking us up!

Tip: take a short walk into the village of Longnor (approx 1 mile) for a reasonably priced meal and drink and the landlord will drive you home! Of course, if you're feeling lazy you could ring them and they'll pick you up too!! And they do takeaway pizza but we didn't try that. Enjoy :)

Room Tip: Deluxe lodges are more private, Maple Lodge bed creaks.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived on the 30th Dec for a New Year break and it was the best New Year ever. We were greeted by John who was friendly and to the point and check in was very quick and we were shown to our lodge. We stayed in the Geranium Lodge which was lovely and homely with the nice touch of the Christmas tree and a bottle of wine. Everything you needed was there, they had thought of everything and we never once had to ask for anything, it was immaculate and the best lodge we have stayed in and we will be returning.
We too never saw anyone and loved the fact it was so private and peaceful, we had an amazing time which was made possible by the owners who do a fantastic job!
We really did not want to leave :(
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Go for the Geranium...hot tubs are a must, we were never out of ours.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenbrad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at Longnor in the gap in between Christmas and New Year, and after a stressful time were looking for somewhere we could chill out and relax. Longnor Wood Holiday Park was perfect for this. It is in an idyllic spot with beautiful views and the fact that it is an adults only park was perfect for us. It is very quiet and peaceful, we didn't really see any other guests from one day to the next even though the park was full.

We stayed in the Maple lodge which was perfect, spotlessly clean and very well equipped, much better so than other lodges I've been to before. It was warm and cosy and even though the heating does go off at times the heater in the lounge area warms things up pretty quickly. Other reviews said the bed was uncomfortable but we didn't find this.

The hot tub on the decking was very private and was ready to use at any time which was a big bonus. Again didn't really see or hear of anyone while we were in our tub which was very relaxing.

The Christmas tree was a lovely touch as well as the huge box of chocolates and the sparking wine, ice bucket, crushed ice and champagne flutes.

Would 100% stay here again and recommend to others wanting a relaxing break. You wouldn't need to leave the lodge unless you wanted to as you have everything you need!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iheartcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

my wife and i stayed in the cedar lodge at longnor weekend of 13/12/13/to 16/12/13, at reception met by warden james who signed us in then shown us to accomadation explained everything in the lodge and explained the workings of the hot tub,please note you will need to leave deposit for any breakages etc, this is in the form of a credit/debit card, this is squashed as long as there is no damage.anyway james made sure we were sorted then left us to it,from then on really enjoyed our weekend in a very comfortable lodge and a lovely hot tub,we found it warm enough for us (heating is already on timer)the storage area is huge,the bed was nice but a bit too soft for me, wife loved it though, kitchen has all you need, and the lounge is very comfortable, all in all folks i don't think you will be disappointed at longnor wood, enjoy,forgot to say,its surrounded by woodland with plenty of walks.

Room Tip: the cedar (i think) is the only dog friendly lodge, so if you have a dog its a great place to come,plenty of walks nearby..
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Please do not touch anything within the lodge or you WILL get charged, they charged me for a chipped plate for godness sake, the owner is a horrible horrible man - I will NEVER return here.

There is an itineray of EVRYTHING in the lodge and they do not account for wear and tear or accidental breakages you HAVE TO PAY. Hoseasons do not tell you this and when you get there they take a copy of your card details and charge you for whatever they like!!

Appalling and unprofessional.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ME57JON, Owner at Longnor Wood Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

We do not normally respond to customer reviews as we believe that customer views good or bad should be respected and where appropriate acted upon. However, in this case we feel the need to balance the review with the facts.

The customer booked a one bedroom lodge for two people on an adult only park. As the booking was for her partner’s birthday this lady was allowed into the lodge 1.5 hours earlier than our normal check in time.

On the Saturday night of the booking this customer decided to sneak her children into the lodge. With only one King sized bed there was obviously a lack of proper sleeping accommodation. Additionally this calculated deceit could have had serious consequences related to Health & Safety / fire had an emergency occurred.

When the children were discovered on the Sunday afternoon the customer was asked to leave and became annoyed when expected to pay for the damage caused to the lodge contents by her children who should not have been there.

With regard to our lack of professionalism, we have just been award for the 3rd consecutive year the Hoseasons Diamond award for “Customer Service & Product Quality”.

It is regrettable that people who are caught out in their dishonesty seek to use legitimate customer review sites like Trip Advisor to try and discredit businesses such as ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews