We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a monday to friday stay at maple lodge. Hot tub was fab! Tip -take some flip flops for the short steps between the patio doors and the tub especially in this weather
The lodge its self was beautiful. Your have a great time !

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NickyW1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 269 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just back from our third trip to Longnor Wood - and our second stay in the Geranium Lodge. Excellent location, very quiet and peaceful - only interrupted this time by severe gales and rain. The lodge was still of an excellent standard - very clean and homely. The addition of a wooden cover over the hot tub was very welcome, due to some very bad weather during our stay. Visited some very interesting caves in the area this time, as walking was not possible. Think we will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We camped here for two nights and had the camping area to ourselves being in October. The facilities were extremely clean and modern. Would definitely recommend the site to friends and family. Must bear in mind that the nearest village is about a 45 minute walk along a main road and the local taxi companies will charge you almost double what it should be as they have to come from another village to collect you. Would highly recommend the Cheshire Cheese pub for food and reasonably priced drinks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Me and my partner have just got back from a 3 night break in the maple lodge and all we can say is wow! From the moment we arrived on site we where impressed, friendly welcome and arrival show around to our lodge and then shown around the lodge itself which I feel is a nice touch. The best part is the hot tub that's waiting for you on your private decking. We where welcomed to our lodge with a nice bottle of bubbly and box of chocs which went down a treat on that Friday night in our hot tub. The location of the lodge is fantastic with a number different paces to visit right on your door step. I honesty did not want to leave when it came to Monday morning! We will defonently recommend longnor wood to friends and family and we will be back next year for another relaxation break in 2014. So if you are reading this review please stop now and get booking and don't miss out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a weekend staying in the maple lodge was lovely ideal relaxation break for our special celebration nice and peaceful friendly staff nice touch with the chocs and bottle of cava on arrival only criticism was bed was little uncomfortable but thats just a personal thing there is nothing we can fault and will be returning :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariahalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a mini honeymoon the day we got married for 4 nights. Lovely views on route to the resort but disappointing when we arrived on the site. Very clean place however we felt the lodges were way too close to each other.. that close we could hear our neighbours conversation! The cabins felt like a static caravan and quiet small compared to other cabins we have stayed in. Settee was tiny, could have easily been enough room for a corner suite which would have been so much more comfortable. When we checked in the owner took us to our cabin, we had the VIP cabin which basically means you just get a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and a box of chocolates waiting in the cabin which unfortunately wasn't there.. I had to ask! When we did get them it was a bottle of champagne and a huge box of Thorntons which was very nice. Our cabin was right next to a gas storage tank, we had no views... however we were left alone to enjoy our hot tub for as long as we wanted. Would we go back.... no. But that's purely because we didn't like not having a lovely view to sit and enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fudge37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have since visited this park again as we enjoyed the first visit so much (camping). Reading through some of the recent reviews, some negative points seem to be solely down to personal preference of the camping experience, particularly comments such as the park being quite remote, very little phone reception and TV reception. We didn't mind any of these issues as we wanted to get away from it all and Longnor Wood certainly gave us this. John and the other staff are great and extremely helpful at all times. The atmosphere was laid back and we made some friends on the last occasion. The amenities are very good, especially the little things such as freezer for cool box ice packs and the microwave. Showers were always clean although make sure you take a torch for night time visits as the route is quite dark. The camping field has got a slight slope but nothing too much of a problem. There is a wood and field/meadow with fantastic views where you can take dogs for exercise. As long as you don't mind the curfew and being respectful of others after a certain point in the evening, this is a great campsite to visit. Only negative I can think of would be that you are limited on walks directly from the site and would probably need to drive a bit further afield. We are going again in Sept and highly recommend this site to others who want a peaceful getaway site.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy7827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longnor
9.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
9.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,155 reviews
4.4 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
301 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longnor Wood Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longnor Wood Holiday Park

Address: Longnor, Peak District National Park SK17 0NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Longnor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Longnor
Price Range: $25 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longnor Wood Holiday Park is a small select park "just for adults" (over 18s only). Peace, tranquility and a very warm welcome await all our visitors. We are located in the heart of the Peak District National Park, an area of outstanding natural beauty, with unspoilt, dramatic rolling countryside and charming villages. We enjoy a quiet, secluded position, hidden from any road. Surrounded by woodland and farmland, Longnor Wood Holiday Park provides the perfect base for exploring the unique and beautiful Peak District. The picturesque village of Longnor, where Peak Practice was filmed, is approximately 1 1/4 miles away, offering a selection of public houses, plus a craft centre, a general store, post office and chip shop. The cobbled square is the starting point for many lovely walks. We rent 2 bed lodges with hot tubs, 1 bed lodges with hot tubs. We also have a pet friendly mini lodge to rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Longnor Wood Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing