We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Longnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend away”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The accommodation was excellent, with the room that we had very clean and comfortable. A large double bed and an en-suite room which had lovely shower that gave piping hot water if required. We ate both nights in the pub and sampled the wine menu choosing a variation of meals and drinks. The open fire gave lots of heat and added to the ambiance. It is an ideal place to stay for a weekend getaway whether you like the open air of the countryside or just to relax.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    27
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
61
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex, england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Since the new landlady took over at the end of November, this pub has really moved forward. I've been there at least 6 times since the new owners took over, including Christmas day.
The menu is now much more modern, but still retaining some great classics. And welcome "specials" each day. Also they now do take-away Pizzas, which I havent tried, but look lovely. The service is better and the drinks variety has improved as well.

Cant recommend them enough, I could happily move in!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavster2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

me and my partner stayed for one night room was great and food and service would go again and recommend to any one just one thing book early you wont be dissapointed as has 4 rooms food and everything was fab

just one thing the place has 4 rooms so book early you wont be disaspointed

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coniston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here for two nights, the pub has a lovely oldie worldie feel to it, the family made is feel extremely welcome and the home cooked food was fabulous nothing was too much trouble And our two year old also had a fabulous time. The rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay we will be back soon x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metcalfe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Fantastic! Set in the lovely quaint village of Longnor, Buxton, the Old Cheshire Cheese is a perfect place to stay, relax and eat.
Mine hosts are a lovely family, and the food is high quality, cooked to perfection. Its setting in the Peak District, makes it an ideal base for exploring the surrounding countryside, with Buxton just 6 miles away

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms here, two up and two down. Downstairs better suited to the less able. Simpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBongo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We have visited this pub on more than one occasion the meals are fantastic. The staff are very friendly you get an outstanding service. The takeaway pizzas are absolutely delicious just what you need. Will definitely be visiting more often

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

went to ye olde cheshire cheese inn for a meal and the food was fantastic, all freshly made with a lot of care and detail!! stayed in a lodge near by and the kind gentleman from the inn picked us up and took us back after. would definatly recommend eating there and we shall definatly return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyd1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longnor
3.7 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.8 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn

Property: Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Address: High Street, Longnor, Peak District National Park SK17 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Longnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Longnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated barn to a very high standard. Three en-suite double/twin rooms, one double/twin en-suite disabled room. Ideal base for exploring the Peak National Park, and many local attractions - Alton Towers 20mins, Chatsworth House 20mins, Haddon Hall 20 mins. Family run traditional village inn with well-stocked bar offering real ales, lagers and beers, good wine and fine food freshly prepared on the premises.crisps etc and chocolate, pool table dartboard dominoes cards something for everyone. The Inn is full of interesting old knick knacks, old photos of local scenes and local people. Large car park, beer garden, open fires for a very warm welcome. Food served all day every day.All our dishes freshly prepared on our premises. Dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing