We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come back Mali!”
Review of Mali Greenhouse Restaurant - CLOSED

Mali Greenhouse Restaurant
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Come back Mali!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We visited the wonderful Mali's Greenhouse in November and had one of the best Thai meals ever. The food was extraordinarily fresh and beautifully presented and portions were generous. Service was prompt and everyone was extremely welcoming. We couldn't wait to go back. Next visit to Stranorlar was early January and we headed straight to Mali's for another wonderful Thai experience. Imagine our disappointment when we found the place closed, and a local told us that they had shut just before Christmas. What a shame. I truly wish they would reopen :(

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thecraicis90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing. The quality of the food was terrible. My stir fry was like a soup. The vegetables were catering quality and the chicken was rubbery. Save your money and your digestive system!!

Helpful?
Thank do__neill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybofey, Ireland
1 review
“Love the food and staff are very friendly and attends your needs very well.”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

It's great for family dinner and special celebrations...love it and please do try it. We dine in to celebrate my daughters 16th birthday and we booked ahead with our orders and they give us great deals and suggestions of food which is brilliant. When we arrived,the table are set and our food was ready in a click. The place is very homely and warm. Feels like just your extension home, my kids are relax and enjoys the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marygracealegarme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a surprise!!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I were staying in Ballybofey and wanted to try somewhere other than our hotel to eat. We had been out driving earlier in the day and spotted this restaurant, stopped to look at their menu and decided we would give it a try in the evening. We arrived and were immediately welcomed warmly and shown to our table. We were given time to order our drinks and select our menu choices and we were stunned at the range of choices available. We were brought complimentary prawn crackers which are usually bland and tasteless but these were definitely moreish. I had ordered the house spring rolls and my wife potato skins and when they came they were both substantial and absolutely delicious. For our mains I had ordered chicken red curry and my wife had ordered chicken satay, All I will say is WOW!! We struggled to finish the meal and both of us agree that we have never tasted such beautiful and flavoursome food. We commented on this to our waitress who said she would pass our comments on to the chef. A few minutes later the chef came out to our table and personally thanked us. We could not rate this restaurant high enough for its quality, quantity and value for money. A real gem

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sorry, nowhere near good enough”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Local restaurant, so we gave it a go.
We are the only people there, seated and ordered drinks, they arrive 20 mins later. Ordered food and it takes forever to arrive, food is OK but nothing special at all.
Desert menu is something we didn't even contemplate, firstly because the choice was so poor and secondly we were fed up at this stage with the terrible service.
Quite simply, not good enough. Won't be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank c42pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mali Greenhouse Restaurant also viewed

Stranorlar, County Donegal
Stranorlar, County Donegal
 
Stranorlar, County Donegal
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing