We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Certificate of Excellence
fivemiletown
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We found our weekend stay in the Kees Hotel to be one of the most comfortable hotels in Ireland. The food was excellent, the rooms clean ,bathroom spotless and a great pool to relax in. The weekend break was a present from my friends and was an offer in the Sunday Life(which was a great way to promote the hotel.) It is situated not far from shops and sight seeing and will be on my list of breaks to come.

Room Tip: check the offers in local papers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brufmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Kee's, we will have the work on the terraces and gardens finished soon, and eating 'al fresco' will be even more enjoyable in the lovely weather we have been experiencing in the North West this year. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    194
    48
    28
    18
See reviews for
209
374
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

just stayed in kees for my niece s wedding on the 26/05/2012 food is top notch lovely hotel while a bit old but nice change from your normal big chain hotels i really enjoyed my stay and would defo go back

Room Tip: front of hotel rooms a bit noisey from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your niece's wedding celebration with us. Many other prospective brides find the atmosphere of this renowned old coaching Inn perfect for their wedding reception, and we have been hosts to thousands over the last forty years! As you say yourself, we offer something different. We look forward to your return visit,
Kind Regards, Paul (patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Just back from a great weekend in the Kees Hotel. Warm welcome and very friendly staff. Rooms very clean and great food. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. Will be back in September.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank georginamitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us yet again, and we are looking forward to seeing you in September. Kind Regards, Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights recently on a business trip. For the same price as a single occupancy in other hotels in the area, I was able to secure a suite in Kee's Hotel. The room itself was very nice, with a large, comfortable bed, separate living room, and a large bathroom. The floorboards in the corridor outside the bedroom, however, were very creaky, and the walls are paper thin, so unfortunately you could hear everyone going past the room (but ear-plugs sorted that out for me).

The breakfast was very good, with good quality cooked-food, and a wide selection of cereals, fruits & juices.

I felt that the leisure centre was a little dated, but as this is officially classified as a 3* hotel (and bearing in mind the relative cost compared to other local hotels), it was perfectly fine.

There were really only 2 negatives for me about the hotel. Firstly (and this is a bit petty), the bar only has a small tv in the corner, and they had no sports channels (which for me helps pass the time while away on business, but as I said, it's a petty thing). Secondly, there is no WIFI in any of the rooms, and even around the lobby there are limited areas you can access the internet (e.g. the bar & restaurant are dead zones, so you pretty much have to be within 20-30 feet of reception to pick up a signal). This is a real headache when you need to spend a couple of hours online.

However, if you don't care about sports channels & internet access, this hotel certainly delivers the best value for money in the area, and I thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank odwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As regards the creaky floors and thin walls, I must mention in their defence that they have been en situ for some two centuries at least, ( that's the trouble with some of these old buildings!) Perhaps the atmosphere is some consolation! Hope to see you on your next business trip. Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

This was a special weekend treat from my husband after a difficult year due to serious illness. Kee's had been highly recommended but we were very disappointed. Our room was very out dated and a miss match of colours. Bed cover was covered in make up when I turned it down although sheets & pillow cases were clean. Food on Friday night (early bird menu) was awful so we ate in the steak house across the road on the Saturday night, which was excellent. Hot breakfast food items on Saturday morning were cold but were fine on Sunday morning. On a plus side, staff were friendly and bed was comfy. On check out I did raise my concerns and I was refunded the cost of Friday night's meal which was a nice jesture. Still very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review.

Thank you for posting your review, We are so sorry that you arrived at our hotel with such great expectations and left disappointed with your stay. We are also glad that you met with Vicky Kee and Jane Kee before you left, so that they could express their regret personally. We have taken your comments on board and will act on them. Again, I am so sorry we failed to live up to your high expectations. Kind Regards, Paul Patton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Staying here for another weekend. Lovely room. They have been upgrading some rooms. I had steak last night. Best I've had. Very tender. We went to the carvery on Sunday. What a choice. Nice and relaxing. If you speak to reception they will give you discount vouchers for lots of local shops. Easy to reach. We fly from prestwick to Derry. Only £63 return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank globaltrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel and Leisure Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and found the food and accommodation up to previous standards. We are constantly up-dating facilities (even in the prevailing times!), to ensure the comfort of our guests. I look forward to welcoming you to Kee's again soon Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

we have stayed several times at the Kee's and would have no hesitation going back. The staff, surroundings and food- especially breakfast. are excellent. The pool area is slightly dated but adequate. The rooms are clean and homely.
The bar area and conservatory are very relaxing and the music at the weekend suits all tastes and ages.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Owner at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Paul patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us once again, especially the breakfasts!! We have just completed a very popular outside dining and relaxing terrace area, (weather permitting), so something new to see when you return. Fond Regards, Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranorlar
0.6 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
13.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre

Property: Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
Address: Kee's Hotel Main Street, Stranorlar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Stranorlar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the twin towns of Stranorlar and Ballybofey, near the foothills of the Bluestack Mountains, you'll find Donegal's warmest welcome at Kee's Hotel, family run since 1892. The bedrooms are bright and comfortable, offering the high standards expected by any seasoned traveller. The restaurant offers the finest local seasonal specialties. Spend quality time in the gym, sauna, pool or beauty salon. Ideally located for hill-walking, golf and touring. Numerous awards from international tour operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and LateRooms so you can book your Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kees Hotel And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing