We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We booked Kee's Hotel as we wanted a two night break mid-week with our 2 sons (as a treat for our eldest son's 11th birthday). It was reasonably priced, and my husband and I had stayed here before and had a nice stay. The hotel is not modern - old fashioned, homely feel as stated in another review. The staff were pleasant and accommodating. Quick and fuss-free check-in and check-out. We had a family room - one double, 2 singles. Room towards back of hotel, near swimming-pool/spa, so quiet area. Room and bathroom clean. TV quite small and old - not up-to-date, flat screen and limited channels. Our sons had a lap-top with them to keep them entertained (thank goodness for wi-fi!). Swimming pool ok - water cold so be warned. Jacuzzi nice and warm. Also sauna/steam room. We enjoyed the full buffet breakfasts - no need for lunch as so full each day! We had one dinner for 2 in our hotel deal which was delicious. Good selection on set menu. Service good (although our sons thought meal was slow to come to table - kids!) There is a nice riverside walk - we touched lucky with nice weather during our stay. Also some nice places to eat in Ballybofey. All-in-all a nice, relaxing break for a few days. We stayed 15th and 16th March 2012. Would certainly recommend Kee's Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel near spa/swimming pool quieter ( Not wheelchair accessible as quite a few set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cazmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Kee's. People tell us that they like the traditional, homely, warm fire-type atmosphere of the hotel, but it 'sthe food that brings them back again and again. We do have a great kitchen team led by Head Chef Etienne Meyer! Hope to see you again in Kee's, and under such favourable skies!!! Kind Regards Paul (Patton)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 919 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

My daughter held her wedding reception here on 10th February 2012, although this hotel is not one of the newer hotels, it has a long family history, it still has a homely feel about it, from the log fire to the plants in the reception area.When we arrived at the hotel we were made very welcome by the manager and the staff who served the pre meal refreshments. The meal itself was one of the talking points of the wedding, everyone had praise for the meal and the service. During the wedding the bar staff were very helpful, and after if any guests who were staying overnight wanted a drink the night porter was very pleasant and helpful. The room myself and my wife stayed in was very clean and the twin bed we slept in was very comfortable, there was also tea making facilities if you required them. The breakfast was self service and you had a choice of fried or continental breakfast and you could eat as much as you wanted. Kees Hotel is good place to stay if you are look to do some sight seeing as its ideal for Donegal or for sight seeing around Derry or Giants Causway

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wderry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. We very much enjoyed hosting your daughter's wedding here at Kee's, and are delighted that you all had such an enjoyable experience. There are three members of the Kee Family working in the hotel, and maintaining the standards set by previous generations is very important to them. We have been hosting weddings here for almost fifty years , but each wedding is unique and our dedicated wedding team treat each one as the most important, because that it is what it is for our prospective bride and her family. Hope to see you in Kee's again soon. Kind Regards, Paul (Patton)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Went for lunch with a friend & couldn’t believe how awful the food was. We ordered a Caesar salad & a prawn salad, a glass of wine & 2 coffees. The food was on the verge of being inedible. The lettuce was very wilted & the prawns were dreadful. I really wasn’t sure if they were fresh as they definitely tasted funny. I really thought the days of serving food like this in Ireland was well & truly gone & was very shocked that a established hotel could serve up food like that & then charge over €26 for it.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you were so disappointed with your lunch the day you called with your friend. We work hard to keep our food standards high, but obviously fell short of expectations on this occasion. Our apologies, Paul Patton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed the weekend of 17 February.

Found the staff to be very helpful and always pleasant from checking in at reception to breakfast/dinner in the restaurant.

We had breakfast each morning and 1 evening meal - all of which was delicious.

Would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky7406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We work hard as a team to keep up standards set over the last 120 years!! Dispatches over the intervening years mention the same positives a s yourself - friendly service and good food.
We look forward to return visits. hope to see you soon! Kind Regards, Paul (Patton)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

From the day I accompanied my daughter and my son in law to Kees Hotel when they were searching for a venue for their forth coming wedding we were made to feel welcome. Tea and coffee was offered as soon as we arrived. Vicki sat with us taking her time and answering our many questions, Leading up to the big day my daughter had many occasions to contact the hotel and always found them very helpful, On the big day I could not fault a thing. The hotel has a lovely cosy atmosphere anyway but non more so than on that day, All the staff were very attentive and couldnt do enough for us, The food was superb and all our guests raved about it.
We were made to feel so special and that nothing was too much bother. Thanks to Kees Hotel they helped make my daughter and son in laws special day even more memorable .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jellabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. It was a real pleasure to host your wedding reception here at Kee's. It is, of course, our job to make you feel special on this very special day for the bridal couple and their families, and we have many years of experience! Many of our guests comment on the warm, cosy atmosphere of the hotel, and congratulate our chefs on the high standard of the food. We work closely together as a team to uphold Kee's proud tradition of caring for our guests. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your celebrations, we enjoyed having you all, and look forward to your visits in the future. Kind Regards Paul (Patton)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had our wedding in Kees Hotel last week and i have to say they made our special day even more perfect, i could not fault anything at all. The food was gorgeous, all our guests are still talking about how nice it was, the staff were so friendly and helpful from start to finish, the rooms were perfect. The hotel itself overall has a really friendly, cosy atmosphere about it and is really lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Paul Patton. Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. We very much enjoyed hosting your wedding reception. A winter wedding is especially suited to the cosy, warm atmosphere of the hotel. We know how important this day is for the bridal couple and their families, and we know that friendly, helpful staff and delicios food are an essential part of this! Our guestrooms are in tradional style, as befits the age of the building. We are celebrating 120 years in the Kee Family this year (and it was a going concern when they bought it!!! We do appreciate the importance of this to our heritage, and do our best to uphold and enhance the tradional style of the building, (much appreciated by our guests from abroad) Hope to see you in Kee's again soon. Paul (Patton)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

just returned form a weekend in the kees hotel with my husband and two children. a lovely cosy hotel that is a little old fashioned but makes up for it with friendly staff and great food . Good value for money however swimming pool always cold.Will return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bronagh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your break in Kee's. We wish our guest's to enjoy great food. pleasant service and a lovely, cosy atmosphere, because that is what they exxpect when they come on holiday!! We continually refurbish and up-date our facilities, while retaining the unique character of this old coaching inn. Kind Regards, Paul Patton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranorlar
0.7 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,222 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,167 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
13.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre

Address: Kee's Hotel Main Street, Stranorlar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Stranorlar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Price Range: $73 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the twin towns of Stranorlar and Ballybofey, near the foothills of the Bluestack Mountains, you'll find Donegal's warmest welcome at Kee's Hotel, family run since 1892. The bedrooms are bright and comfortable, offering the high standards expected by any seasoned traveller. The restaurant offers the finest local seasonal specialties. Spend quality time in the gym, sauna, pool or beauty salon. Ideally located for hill-walking, golf and touring. Numerous awards from international tour operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kees Hotel And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing