We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views with chilled atmosphere”

The Bay Bistro and Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Rhossili
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
SWANSEA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning views with chilled atmosphere”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had gorgeous sunny lunch here this week, big juicy sweet chilli prawns, fresh salad hand cut chips. Staff helpful putting out parasols for those wanting them.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAMOWENB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    133
    30
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A pleasure, good food, good service, good view, good music”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We've been there several times over the last year or so and always had a most enjoyable experience, with unfailingly friendly, courteous and helpful staff - which makes us very surprised at the negative comments in other reviews. Our experience has always been first rate, whether for a coffee, a snack lunch or the excellent dinner menu.
As for the smoker who complained, serves you right. Please go to the next county (from this or any other restaurant) when you want a smoke in future, and don't pollute the air anywhere near me. To the owners: please continue your non-smoking policy vigorously. I think it will increase your business if you get a reputation for not taking any nonsense from smokers.
We have been there twice recently for dinner with friends and had a thoroughly enjoyable experience on both occasions. Service was a bit slow but since we were enjoying good conversation and the company of our friends, we are not complaining.
Our daughter and her husband went recently and likewise had a very good experience, including great helpfulness in avoiding dairy products in the dishes she chose.
In addition to the general excellence of the food and atmosphere, there was a guitarist playing in the corner. We were a bit concerned when he was setting up his equipment but in the event, we needn't have worried, he played well-known tunes (well-known to us, anyway) in a delightful gentle light modern jazz style, at a very moderate volume which still allowed us to chat in a normal voice.
So, all in all, very pleasant experiences and we shall certainly be back in future. The only reason I have awarded 4 stars is that I never award 5: perfection, however close you get, is never quite achievable. These people come close!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MANDH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurharry, Manager at The Bay Bistro and Coffee House, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
First of all, thank you so much for the lovely review. I agree with you about the music it was the first time he had played and everyone enjoyed it. He will be playing again on Sat night. Once again, thank you and we hope to serve you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Complete a perfect day - at The Bay!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely restaurant. Love the seaside feel to the interior and the terrace with such beautiful views.
The food was great. Delicious paninis, vege burgers, soup and cakes and so much choice for vegetarians. Would love to come back to try their dinners, the menu looked fab. Really nice touch to have iced water available on tap- and water bowls for dogs too!
Friendly, efficient staff (and it was busy when we were there but our food was served really quickly). There's a lovely gift shop too with fantastic ice cream. Wish we could come here every week!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsiaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurharry, Manager at The Bay Bistro and Coffee House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for a great review. These comments are always reported back to the staff who work so very hard. We really apretiate you taking the time to do it. We look forward to serving you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude staff ruined atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Visited here for dinner only to be rudely interrupted by staff starting to clear away almost as soon as we had sat down, chairs were stacked on tables staff started sweeping and mopping the floor and the toilets were closed with some repugnant woman (presumably the owner) telling paying customers to use the public toilets down the road, outrageous! This was a whole hour before the supposed closing time. Other customers were visibly embarrassed by her outbursts. The atmosphere was awful at this point and I quickly exited the establishment, though not before hearing the aforementioned lady say to someone "are you dyslexic?", in reference to the sign they had put on the toilet door. To top it all off, if you can believe it we were given a tiny pot of sauce to share between two people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurharry, Manager at The Bay Bistro and Coffee House, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
When toilets have to be cleaned, they have to be cleaned no matter what time of day. We use strong chemicals that's why we clearly mark the door with CLOSED FOR CLEANING. I would imagine the same as any other establishment if they are cleaning the toilet. Out of politeness we tell people there are toilets in the car park. Sadly some people totally ignore the hard work of the staff and walk past them, even ignoring the sign on the doors! We do explain to people that we are starting to get ready for eve dining. It is totally the customers choice to be served with the knowledge that the inside is closing but the terrace is available. Some customers ignore this too but there's not a lot I can do about it. As for the sauce, did you ask for more? We would not have refused you but fetched you some immediately! With warmest wishes and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful atmosphere, very friendly staff and THE most amazing bacon! So good we had to come back for seconds!
Highly recommend this cafe to anyone visiting Gower and Rhossily. Thank you guys!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelonthrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurharry, Manager at The Bay Bistro and Coffee House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out to wright nice things about our cafe. We really appreciate it. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Bistro and Coffee House also viewed

 
Llangennith, Swansea County
Llanmadoc, Swansea County
 

Been to The Bay Bistro and Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing