We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST CARVERY IN RENFREWSHIRE”
Review of The River Inn

The River Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Crosslee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“BEST CARVERY IN RENFREWSHIRE”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visited The River Inn with my Mum, Dad, Sister and 8yr old son. We opted for the carvery dinner. 3 courses for £18:95 or 2 courses for £14:95 - exceptional value when you consider the quality. We opted for 2 courses which was more than sufficient. The carvery meat (beef olives and han was what we chose) was cooked to absolute perfection. Gorgeous brocolli and cauliflower cheese, fresh peas, mashed and roast potatoes aplenty. Desserts were superb - Bailey's creme brulee, passionfruit mousse, apple crumble & custard and a chocolate fountain with marshmallows to name but a few. The waiting staff were polite and welcoming and are a credit to this establishment - hope they appreciate them. THANK YOU RIVER INN FOR A FANTASIC FAMILY SUNDAY DINNER. WILL BE BACK AGAIN REAL SOON.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddie151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    59
    20
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just got back having had a very enjoyable lunch here with some friends. Four of us had the Carvery which was excellent, the beef and the turkey were of a good quality and we had the choice of medium rare or well done beef which was a nice touch. I felt the veg could have been hotter but that's usually the case with a Carvery meal. The set price was very good value for 3 courses. The desserts were yummy and there was a wide selection, I opted for the Mango mousse which was 1st class. We finished off with coffee and home made tablet mmmmm!
The service was efficient and friendly, our young waiter Gavin was brilliant and made us feel really welcome.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buglerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely Carvery”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went for the carvery meal it was excellent and good value for money. Have also had some celebrations here my both my sons 21st and could'nt fault anything staff helpful food very good too and we sat on for a while with drinks there was no rush to get us out unlike some restaurants. Excellent

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank boothsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average presentation fantastic steak”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The food, scallops and prawns to start and steak for main course was sublime but the presentation on the plate wasn't brilliant. However, persoanally I loved it and I expect to be going again.

It was busy but the service was spot on. Not silver service but warm and friendly and always there when you wanted them. Decor is dark wood and understated.

Bill was £115 for four people without booze, 2 courses.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scribbit_Finhangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland Neck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced and very ordinary”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a huge disappointment at huge expense on new years eve. Luckily the company of our friends kept up the spirits. Not very good at all and leaves a bad taste

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancashire67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Inn also viewed

Houston, Renfrewshire
Houston, Renfrewshire
 

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing