We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kalia Kibbutz
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$143
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$360
$268
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$754
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
$196
Movenpick.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$219
$197
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
10
21
13
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
21
13
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdead seaplace to staydinnermoneyjerusalemdesertwifigroupfactflowersloadsspot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 49 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed there a few times in two different room categories.
The family room is designed for 4 people but is very small and crowded.
The room for couple is very nice.
They have a nice pool and you get one entrance per host to the dead sea – a very good benefit.
Breakfast is very good.
The rooms are clean but might be noisy – depends on your neighbors.
Location is just OK. ~ 30 minutes from Ein-Gedi.

A good value for your money.
We will visit there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiri_Sh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The Dead Sea area is extremely expensive to find accommodation for a family of 5, so Kalia was our choice as the best value in an expensive area - although it was still the most expensive place we stayed in our trip, but we would have paid much more anywhere else nearby. We were in a 2 bedroom unit with kitchen. Good selection for breakfast. You definitely need a car to enjoy the area as you need to drive quite a while to eat out, although with a kitchen if you're organised you can make your own. Rooms are clean, decent "budget" family accommodation. We used their pass & towels to go to the Dead Sea for a swim/float which was fun.

No hairdryer available, not even to borrow from reception. Wifi only in reception area which is quite a walk from the units. Several stray dogs hanging around the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMBHL_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our room had a kitchenette, bar fridge, a kettle cups and spoons. Tea and ness-cofee + sugar provided. The kibbutz is at the Northern end of the Dead Sea where the water is not as dense. They provided us a free tiket for the beach ( 5 min. Driving ) and free towels. Kalia kibbutz is a good base to visit sites in the area, 3 min. Driving to Qumran, 30 min. To En Ghedi, 45 min to Massada and 1h to Dead Sea Hotels. We don't used the pool, opening time: 10 A.M. I saw also an tenis field. The resort is guarded by the military ( two chicks - nice ) at the barier entrance. This Kibbutz could be so much more, look's like poor maintenance. The room look's good, nice bed ( two single beds pushed toghether ), big lcd tv screen.

Cons:
No safety box in the room. Poor breakfest, kosher, a bad joke. The bathroom is very small, the shower space is so thin - the entire bathroom needed an upgrade. Very poor toiletries. The staff were nice, but they can do a better job. Quality vs. Price = disaster !!

Final words: the kibbutz itself is not bad, but the price is overrated.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metalactual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Since most hotels in Israel are way too expensive for what they are, staying in a Kibbutz is often a good alternative, although sometimes they are so simple and charmless, it can be very disappointing. This one is a very nice one, cute rooms, nice environment. The only default is that you are not gonna get a nice quiet breakfast, you eat in a noisy "Heder Okhel" at big tables. The food is not too bad however. Overall, it is a very good price for Israel and the place is nice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SabVu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

First of all I have to say that this kibbutz never has been in the West Bank. It's only 20 minutes drive from Jerusalem.There is private beach .It's very nice and queit place for tourist with a car.I think you can get not bad value for your many

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bora_bora_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews