We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox Inn
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here over bank holiday weekend for 3 nights staying in the Garden room, which was beautiful. Great decor and a very comfy bed. Two showers (!) and a lovely bathroom. One thing that really has to be emphasised here is HOW GOOD THE FOOD IS. oh my lord its amazing. The breakfasts have a huge selection of fresh fruit, dried fruit, museli, yoghurt, bread, croissants, tea and coffee. It was perhaps my favourite part of the day! Until dinner - the Fox Inn is so popular for dinner and you can see why. It's gastro pub food really and is London prices but is totally worth it. We ended up eating here most nights, even if it was just a dessert after returning from another restaurant. The sticky toffee pudding is to die for. The staff were wonderful, they brought us fresh milk for tea, allowed us to put all our meals on the room and were generally very helpful the whole time. We would thoroughly recommend this place for anyone looking for a base in the Cotswolds. We walked to Daylesford Organic and had a massage, then wandered up through Adlestrop and Evenlode. Such a beautiful area and its such a great base from which to explore it.

Room Tip: Garden room has its own shower I think... check before you travel. The others looked a little small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthbLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 176 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

The Fox never fails to impress with it's easy relaxed atmosphere and excellent food.
Having stayed many times in all the unique rooms at the Fox I can only find praise for the comfort and cleanliness. Having read a previous comment regarding the water supply in the rooms, all I can say is.
"The place dates back to the 1700s you have got to expect a few foibles"
Check the wine list out, it is always changing and very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pancho1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed in the smallest Courtyard Room with really tiny bathroom and a dribble of a shower, however that cannot deter me from making an unequivocal recommendation for the Fox Inn. great atmosphere, friendly and atttentive staff and a perfect location...just about the perfect venue if you wnat old world charm with 21st century food and service.

Just make sure you get one of the larger rooms on offer then you can post a five star review to complement mine.

Will be heading back there myself sometime soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plumbduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Yes! A rare find, but a pub that really seems to have it all...A nice location between Stow & Chipping Norton, a superb building with lots of character, excellent food, excellent wines & beers, really pretty garden area, a nice clientèle, but most important of all...Superb Staff! Nothing ever seems too much trouble...even when they are busy! We have been for food and drinks on many occasions, and the pleasant service and polite welcome is always on tap! We will be booking a few nights stay soon, as we want to experience the whole package!....I look forward to it and will report back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RangeRover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The best summer pudding ever ! The starters, mains and other puds were all first class. We went here 2 nights in a row - service was excellent. I would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank MacFudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

From the moment we walked through the door of The Fox at Lower Oddington we were made to feel so welcome. Our delightful stylish bedroom had all that we could wish for including a handsome tweed clad toy fox - just in case we felt lonely. There was no hope of reading any more of the book that I had stuffed into my suitcase as there were so many glossy magazines and interesting books to keep us occupied. We stayed for three nights and wish we could have stayed longer - it is a wonderful base for exploring Gloucestershire, Oxfordshire, Worcestershire and Warwickshire and further afield.
On one of the evenings some friends joined us for dinner - despite the pub being very busy we thought the service was excellent and all our meals were delicious. Breakfast was perfect - lots of delicious soft and dried fruits, real Frech croissants and decent coffee and a selection of daily papers to read. All the staff were obviously well trained and Ian the owner picked a very good manager when he chose Harry who was so friendly and helpful as were all the staff. The Fox was not originally our first choice, but our first choice was full and on visiting that pub, we were particularly pleased that we were staying at The Fox.
I run a bed and breakfast in Norfolk and go away rarely, so our stay at The Fox was particularly welcome and we felt very spoilt. If we could have taken up squatters' rights we would have done despite the fox beating us to it!

Room Tip: We were in the Heythrop room - the mid priced one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happisburghlandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

The Fox is a lovely tradition pub with great atmosphere. It remains however, unpredictable for anything other than a casual night out. When dining with friends and family (Semi-special occasions) the time it takes for food to arrive is often unacceptable. Essentially the kitchen can't seal with the number of tables.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CotswoldReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: Lower Oddington GL56 OUR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Oddington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Oddington
Price Range: $126 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Lower Oddington
The Fox Inn Lower Oddington, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing