We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox Inn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Almost great”
Reviewed April 29, 2011

The Fox is a lovely tradition pub with great atmosphere. It remains however, unpredictable for anything other than a casual night out. When dining with friends and family (Semi-special occasions) the time it takes for food to arrive is often unacceptable. Essentially the kitchen can't seal with the number of tables.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CotswoldReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    29
    23
    13
    13
See reviews for
23
70
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
206 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The room was lovely, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and considerate. The food was really good - the continental breakfast was gorgeous - delicious croissants and fresh fruit etc.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorriemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We take regular breaks in the Cotswolds and never miss going to The Fox. The food is always good and the quantities generous. The staff are very friendly and attentive no matter how busy the pub is. The atmosphere in the bar area is great and, on hot days, the garden is lovely. I've eaten in many Cotswolds 'gastropubs' but few have been as consistent and friendly as The Fox. It's the first place I book every time I arrive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridgeofallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Possibly the best sticky toffee pud I have ever had

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pudprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We went to The Fox to celebrate my birthday in Autumn 2009 and returned again this year hoping it would be as stunning as last time. It was. The main discernible change of a perfect weekend was the expectation that couples would eat 4 croissants for breakfast rather than 3 last year. This is hardly a fault, just more pampering. Food excellent; wine lst superb and the Cranswick Estate Shiraz quite sublime. Of course the ambience is so welcoming and the staff, most of whom we recall were there last year, understand very special and very attentive customer service. We will undoubtedly be back ,and, as we said in our review last year, The Fox cannot and should not be beaten.
22 out of ten.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyedeebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We had seen some good reviews and some not so good reviews about the Fox. Our experience over two nights in November was that you would be hard pressed to find a better pub in England. From the moment we walked through the door (before the pub had opened on a Friday night) we received nothing but the best customer service from well trained, friendly staff who could not have been more helpful. The bedroom (The Garden Room) was superb, notwithstanding the fact that it already had a non-paying resident, an indoor domestic fox. When we enquired his name (he was sitting on formality, and very smartly dressed) we were introduced to Basil. When we were ready we went downstairs and the staff lit the fire for us, offered us a choice of 3 beers, telling us about all of them and a large choice of wines. They explained that they would be really busy later and invited us to select a table of our choice.
The black flagstone floor, the large clock with its resounding tick tock, the unusual and eclectic mix of paintings adorning the pub, the low ceilings, and quite a few more indoor domestic foxes, added a quintessential English pub atmosphere. The naughty painting from Paris and the 1895 collection of R.L.Stevenson across the bookshelves added a unique style. When we were ready to eat, the main trouble was making a choice from an extensive mouthwatering menu offering tempting fish, meat and vegetarian starters, baked fresh fish, locally shot game, and old favourites from exquisitely cooked rack of lamb to perfectly presented whole lemon sole. With desserts to die for, (treacle sponge on one night, creme brulee the next) and an extensive wine list from New and Old World it was fortunate that we did not have to stagger far to a superb large well appointed comfortable bedroom with two armchairs.
With the freshly baked croissants for breakfast - the best this side of the Channel- The Fox could do no wrong and for the perfect weekend break in the Cotswolds it cannot have any equal. We will undoubtedly return, and hopefully the owner will be there to welcome us again to his superb inn.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DidIleavetheironon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

My wife and I stayed at The Fox for one night during September. The village is lovely and the pub is a lovely building with interesting and attractively laid out bars.

We had a really enjoyable meal in the evening, good quality food and a decent selection of wines - nice helpful staff - shame about the owner . We stayed in The Heythrop Room, which was small with an odd curtain arrangement draped over the bedhead, which was falling off. The shower was in a cubicle in the room, not attractive and the bathroom was tiny and smelled. The water was a trickle, the loo took almost ten minutes to refill and in the morning we had no water at all from the hot tap. We suggested when we came to pay the Bill that they should reduce the price slightly for the lack of water and the staff member agreed but said the Manager would have to give a refund as he had no authority to charge us less than the stated rate.
Having paid by credit card we awaited the call from the Manager, who said they tested the water and it was fine so no refund would be given, implying perhaps that we were 'trying it on'. I told her this was not good enough and wished to speak to the Owner, who was out. She promised she would get him to call - I am still waiting for the call.

To sum up - would we go there again? Possibly, but only to eat. Would I recommend The Fox? Certainly not for somewhere to stay - there are far better Pubs within a few miles with Owners who clearly care what their clientele think.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertieSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Oddington
2.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
188 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,161 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
697 reviews
9.6 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,017 reviews
2.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Property: The Fox Inn
Address: Lower Oddington GL56 OUR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Oddington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Oddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Lower Oddington
The Fox Inn Lower Oddington, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing