We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
Review of El Taller

El Taller
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Taurinya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $45
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Contemporary, Healthy
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Montpellier
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A popular restaurant with fantastic views. The staff at the restaurant were very friendly and the food was delicious. The menu offers a variety of different local specialities all with a personal twist.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudie187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    49
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Original and well presented food.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This restaurant has a lovely terrace with beautiful views of the mountains. The dishes on offer are original and full of flavour. The guinea fowl and the sea bream, in particular, were excellent and the desserts were the best we'd had during the holiday. There were 5 of us and the bill, including two good bottles of wine, was very reasonable. The staff were all very friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Recommend to us by Cafe de l'Union in Fillols as they were fully booked. Well worth the extra few miles from Vernet les Bains. Great welcome, excellent service, good value menus where any item could be a la carte. The food was sensational and all local produce. Best meal of the holiday and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Well worth the 11K from Vernet le Bain”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

It may no longer be hard to eat badly in France but it was quite testing finding places near Vernet le Bain for lovely meals out (see review of La Cortal -tripadvisor's top rating in V de Bain.) But you after you have covered the 11K to Taurinya you can relax knowing that they know how to cook. We sat down, 8 and a toddler, in the sun surrounded by mountains and we were glad we had booked. The locals know it serves good food and its busy. I started with asparagus salad with delicious dry and rich parma ham, followed that with a pork loin in foie gras sauce (sorry I know its wrong on so many levels) and finished with a raspberry pannacotta so silky you could wear it. The service is relaxed, you cannot be in a hurry, but they recognised the toddler needed hers quickly and a lovely plate of fresh salmon and baby potatoes came with beetroot crisps before we had really got started. Our picky little eater tucked in and the parents breathed a sigh of relief at the absence of chips, chicken nuggets or other sins against children. We were a content table, those who chose the steaks were particularily happy and our vegetarian was presented with a medley of vegetables including artichoke hearts especially prepared for her. There is a selection of menu's to choose for and we had some from the basic menu du jour that represents very good value and some from the 25 and 29 euro menus. A litre of vin de table white and a 36 euro excellent local red catered for our needs, its zero tolerance in France so our drivers are switched as often as we can and embrace abstinence.
The deconstructed lemon tart - think lemon custard with biscuit crumble on top - was spot on and the rhubarb crumble was just how it should be too. Our last day together in the Pyrenees beautifully handled by El Taller Oxford Wax Lyrical

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OxfordWaxlyrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb food!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was my second visit to this great restaurant. There was an excellent range of dishes to choose from and in our party of 6, no-one was disappointed. The presentation is superb and the service is friendly and helpful. The location is off the beaten track but very much worthwhile. This was the best food we experienced during our 5 day trip to the area. Do make the effort to visit - you will be impressed and the prices are reasonable too - approximately 30 Euro a head including wine. This quality of food in the UK would be double the price!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hextable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Taller also viewed

Villefranche-de-Conflent, Pyrenees-Orientales
Prades, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Vernet-Les-Bains, Pyrenees-Orientales
Prades, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to El Taller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing