We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !”

Lionsrock Big Cat Sanctuary
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Brilliant experience, brilliant game ranger (thank you Anelle), excellent scenery and most amazing big cats! A must see and a absolutely must do game drive.

This is a definite worth while drive out to the Lions Rock Lodge the cats are worth it and the cause is more than worth of supporting.

The fee is minimal for what you get and I personally would recommend this to anyone. They also have overnight facilities for those who want to stay longer.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Albert_lon001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great lodge, nice people!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Really nice lodge, high standard, very familiar, wonderful scenery, very reasonable prices, and by the way, your stay supports the Austrian animal welfare organization Four Paws to protect handicapped and bad treated animals from all over the world. Great stuff!

Helpful?
Thank Herbert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Expect the unexpected (but not necessarily in a good way)”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a tough review to write. I REALLY want to like this place and give it a good rating. They try really hard to make this a memorable experience for the guests, but there were just too many things that went wrong on our visit for me to rate them higher.

Firstly the positives. The Four Paws foundation seem to be doing a wonderful job in rescuing big cats (mostly) from canned hunting farms, poorly run zoos and circuses (many in Eastern Europe). They have built many large enclosures where the animals can live a more normal - and stress free - life. The location and property is also quite nice. It's set up on a hill with great views and you get a real 'game farm' feeling being there.

But sadly, that's not sufficient for a good guest experience. When we arrived (about 7pm) our chalet had already been occupied by another guest party. So we were accommodated in a standard double room. It was a bit cramped for space given we had two children in extra beds. At dinner, the food took about 90 mins to arrive - and the food was pretty average, even by South African standards. There were other guests complaining about the service as well.

The next morning we went on the 'game drive'. Well, it's not at all a game drive per se, but rather a tour in a 4x4 of the property where you get a chance to see the animals in their enclosures. It wasn't bad, just not what we expected.

I summary, Lionsrock is worth a visit, but make sure you have realistic expectations (and don't go there for the culinary experience!) They do a wonderful job taking care of their animals. I was just hoping they would take equally good care of their guests.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Appelmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Big cats with big hearts”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Lions Rock big cat sanctuary is a haven for abused and tortured big cats. When you watch what these poor creatures have gone through, and the huge difference in them after arriving at Lions Rock, I broke down crying. It is extremely emotional to see how mankind treat these magnificent beasts, and how a few large hearted conservationists have helped them. The farm used to be a famous 'canned lion' hunting farm and 24 of the big cats were rescued from that life and are very happy in Lions Rock. The cats look well fed, happy, healthy and in good spirits. They play with their new prides and all seems extremely well adapted to their new environment. They came from far and wide - Romania, Germany, Austria, Jordan, South Africa and anywhere that 'Four Paws' gets called to rescue these cats.

It is definitely worth a visit. There is a play area for children, and the cats have electric fencing on the inside of their enclosures so there is no danger of any attack. Since most of them were hand-reared by humans, they are quite used to us and even come up to the fence when called for their picture to be taken.

Please support this organisation either with a stay or visit, monetary help or any other - they are quite happy to accept any help they can get. They are not supported by Government or have the huge budgets of WWF or Sanparks, so please help in any way you can. Please go and check out their website and offer your assistance: http://www.lionsrock.org

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Awesome place, close up lions including kittens”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited here on my business trip to SA, it was fantastic. About $25 to get in and a car trip away they have numerous lions out in the wild in a park like setting. They include rare white lions. We had a great time but you must be careful and stay inside your vehicle. We heard stories of tourists who got out to take pictures and got attacked. They are wild!
We went just after feeding time (which is around noon I think) because it is really crowded then so we had a fairly easy time driving around with only a few other cars yet still got to see the lions eating. Highly recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BDL999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lionsrock Big Cat Sanctuary also viewed

Bethlehem, Free State
 

Been to Lionsrock Big Cat Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing