We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lionsrock Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$148
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Clarens(Clarens)
$112
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maliba Mountain Lodge(Tsehlanyane National Park)
$204
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harrismith Inn(Harrismith)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
281
126
29
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
126
29
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslions rockbig catsgame driveslions roaringgravel roadenjoyed our staywild catsamazing placeexcellent accommodationwonderful experiencesouth africawell worth a visitservice was excellentsteakvalue for moneystaff were very friendlykeep up the good work
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 443 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This review relates to the game drive and not the accommodation since we just visited while staying elsewhere. We were made to feel very welcome and given blankets to cover our legs on what was a chilly day. Gladys did a good job in detailing the history of Lions Rock and showing us the wonderful work that is being done to give all of the big cats (85 in total) a chance of living a more natural life (still within the confines of enclosures of course). One can really experience the animals up close while being totally safe. I would recommend the game drive without any reservations. As an experience it probably only came second to walking with young lions at a reserve close to Brits. The restaurant experience left a lot to be desired because we were made to wait a long time for food and then a number of our group didn't get what we asked for (they obviously ran out of burger buns and just toasted some bread instead. We did receive an apology, but it should have been communicated to us before receiving the food.

Room Tip: If you are going just for the game drive, and want to follow it up with a meal, ask first whether they have all of the necessary ingredients.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I spent four days at the Lions Rock Lodge and had a wonderful experience. The room was well furnished and comfortable. The staff was friendly and took very good care of us. The sliding doors opened to an amazing view and, on most mornings, the wonderful sound of lions roaring. The Game Drive is unforgettable. You'll see antelopes, zebras, wildebeest and of course the big cats. Once you learn what these animals have been through, you'll know how wonderful their lives are now that they are properly being cared for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelin_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

What an amazing place!! Arriving well out of season we were pleased to find hot food waiting for us. The lodge throughout our stay was well staffed by very friendly, helpful staff. The rooms were exactly what we needed, extremely clean and although cold in the mornings - well it was mid winter, they were well furnished and the views from them at dawn were breathtaking. This is not a safari park but a rehabilitation centre for abused animals. We were given extremely informative talks by a range of staff members on the charity and its various projects. The various big cats appeared to be extremely well looked after in very spacious compounds stretching from the outer edge of the lodge area for several kilometres. Fantastic experience definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Spent three fine nights here in a comfortable room, all the amenities, good bed, good plumbing and choice view outside the sliding glass door. The lodge is located up the side of the hill so has quite a nice view out over the preserve. People could not have been nicer or more helpful, the food was not special but quite adequate. We toured the facility -- excellent! After watching the video first about the rescue of Caesar and other lions from horrible zoos, it was very moving to see him healthy and happy with his pride. We also thoroughly enjoyed our sunset drive up to the top of the mountain. So good to see first hand a happy ending for these magnificent cats and to know that our stay benefited them. Don't miss visiting Coda the tiger!

Room Tip: Closer to the dining room might be preferable.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R00catt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews