We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time travel at Basotho Cultural Village (BCV)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Basotho cultural village
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Time travel at Basotho Cultural Village (BCV)”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Perspective is definitive and has many lessons...incorrect folklore was debunked by this very informative trip, which provided the setting for factual knowledge about my ancestors traditions and their journey through the ages to the present Basotho traditions.

Tx BCV staff and the SA National Parks for this treasure in the heartland of South Africa.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ttladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lovely setting, friendly staff and a superb location for a group visit. I can recommend booking an entire Kraal (up to three huts) for a group as the communal braii area each kraal are superb (and immaculately cleaned each day). Watch the sunset over the plains of roaming Zebra and wildebeast whilst enjoying a sun-downer. Can get chilly at night out of season so take a jumper and long pants but rooms are provided with a heater and the grass roofs help retain the heat (and keep it cool in summer).

Room Tip: huts at the bottom of the hill have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flibbertiegibbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed over for a evening after doing a drive around the NP, great location, very quite and awesome sunset views over the amazing landscape. Also a great price for what it is. Awesome cultural experience on site and acc top notch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mijlof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here on our final night in South Africa in December 2012. The huts are lovely, really clean, very well equipped and the views are amazing! Decorated with old glass bottles, which actually works really well!

The views are worth being here, plus the wildlife comes in close as there are no fences.

Only downside was the shop had strange opening hours and was shut by 4pm. Plus, the water stopped working on the day we were there - so didn't get to try the shower!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbuc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We expected nothing while planning for Basotho Cultural Village. However reaching there we realized what a hidden gem this place is. It’s serene, tranquil, nested in the hill valley, graced with uncountable grazing animals. Never before we felt so pristine, so close to nature. A grocery shop is what we missed somewhat there as we had to go to Glen Rennin to get food stuffs and fuel. However the experience is so unique, we will keep that close to our heart forever. Even my 6 year old kid summed up as the best village he ever visited.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelGuru_Arun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

It is not easy to describe, how much we enjoyed staying in Basotho Cultural Village. In the accommodations the building style of the Basotho people is combined with very modern features. This fits very well with the actual cultural village, which can be visited as a guided tour, which we also enjoyed very much and found highly recommendable. There were lots of very nice details in the chalet we stayed in, like comfortable seats and a very spacious shower. Our chalet was very well equipped, especially the kitchen. We immediately felt at home. There is a great view from the chalet. We simply sat in front of our chalet and watched the wildlife on the hill slope (zebra, wildebeest, springbok etc.) for hours. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and we cannot thank them enough for such a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
0.0 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lionsrock Lodge
Lionsrock Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Birch Bush B&B
Birch Bush B&B
#10 of 19 in Bethlehem
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cheetau Lodge
Cheetau Lodge
#4 of 8 in Bethlehem
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lavender Hill Country Estate
0.0 mi away
Peermont Metcourt at Frontier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basotho cultural village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basotho cultural village

Property: Basotho cultural village
Address: Bethlehem, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bethlehem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bethlehem
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing