We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Family Outing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Eland Zip Lines

Lake Eland Zip Lines
Certificate of Excellence
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Family Outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently had our elder son and his family here from the U.K for a short stay so it was important to spend some quality time together on the South Coast and what better way than to spent time in the small game park at Lake Eland. Following a trrip around the park, seeing quite a few animals, and a nice braii at the riverside site, it was time for some adventure on the Zip Line. The last time they were here the line was still under construction so they were all keen to have a go, especially our six year old grandson who, surprisingly had no qualms about being safely strapped to one of the helpful guides we found at the start.
Grandma and Gramdpa wisely sat this one out but, in just over two hours, met the trio at their final destination down at the bottom of the ride to observe the wide eyed granchild who was so excited to tell us all about his fantastic experience, especially the section over the lake apparently some three hundred metres below.
A wonderful day full of new experiences for the family and well worth the drive..

Mike & Melita Brown

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike and Melita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    17
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wild”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The souvenir shop was of interest to me, any opportunity to shop:)

We were given a map around the reserve and we took it from there. The game drive routes were straight forward offering some breath taking views + plenty of beautiful wild life.

The zip-line awaited us at the top. What an experience!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zama G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thrilling!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We're so glad that we did this! The zip lines are a complete rush. I believe there were around 18 in all, some much longer and some much higher than the others. Allow yourself around 2-3 hours to get through the entire course. First we were 8 to a group, then a couple more guides came down and split us into groups of 4. That made things flow much quicker. The last line is the best! Have a blast!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzzanadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Zip lining was an amazing and exhilarating experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

4.5 Kim's hanging in space, lightning speeds, 300m above the ground. Go early as the crowd really builds up meaning a long wait.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hospitality1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Zip wire day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

WOW. I'm scared of heights so this was a worry for me when I booked for me, my daughter and her boyfriend but its completely safe and awesome fun. You start off on a small slide to get the feel of it and then it ramps up to the big one over the George. 18 slides in all taking about 2 - 3 hours to complete. Its excellent value for money and I would recommend it as a great family day out or an adventure trip for a crowd of people. Tip. Get there early as it backs up if you dont.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Eland Zip Lines also viewed

Port Shepstone, KwaZulu-Natal
Port Shepstone, KwaZulu-Natal
 
KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Cathkin Park, Drakensberg Region
 

Been to Lake Eland Zip Lines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing