We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best hotel in port shepstone!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Shepstone
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“By far the best hotel in port shepstone!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

After we drove for hours through the area in need to find a proper hotel and mainly ended up in cheap rund down b+b with no ac and terrible rooms we finally found this hotel and stayed there for a couple of nights. Rooms are fantastic, the pool is great, the chef is very good and the manageress made us feel at home. Its a simple as that: if you need an accommodation in port shepstone this is by far the only place to choose! Only the waitresses at breakfast can improve their customer friendliness but thats the only advise i can give. Other than that enjoy it!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnriUmthunzi, Front Office Manager at Umthunzi Hotel & Conference, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you Bridget so much for your lovely comments and for taking the time to review Umthunzi. We do aim to give our guests a 4 star experience and are pleased you enjoyed our facilities.
The matter of the service quality is definately something we are working on. We do hope to see you back at Umthunzi soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    41
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
30
2
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Louis Trichardt, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A great place to get away for a break. Stunning accommodation in a beautiful setting. Large rooms with 180 degee sea views. Management and reception staff extremely helpful and efficient. It is going to be a wonderful conference centre, hopefully will still be able to accommodate families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnriUmthunzi, Front Office Manager at Umthunzi Hotel & Conference, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks so much Sharon. We are definitely wanting to grow our leisure market notwithstanding our success as a conference and wedding venue, and we are most encouraged to know you and your family had an enjoyable stay at our hotel!
Since you stayed here we have opened our 30 roomed airconditioned, Deluxe Family suites (sleep 8) as well as our fantastic 30 SOUTH RESTAURANT as well as The Lantern Bar. So do come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Umthunzi Boutique hotel early this year, and I'm afraid to say neither of us was impressed to a point of referring this establishment to friends and family. We arrived to no staff personnel, except a security guard who wasn't very helpful, so we had to find our own way around to our room. Some may also find 'boutique' a bit of a lavish description for what we found to be an average hotel, which didn't have general hotel facilities such as a lounge area or an in-house restaurant. The breakfasts were good and fulfilling, save for some of the waitresses, whose distant mutterings coupled with attitude written all over the face, made for an at-times displeasurable breakfast experience. A definite thumbs-up would however go to the rooms which were cleaned beautifully, again the good breakfasts, and the lovely pool. We also appreciate the manageress's kindness in allowing us to check out later than the hotel check-out time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Noxolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnriUmthunzi, Front Office Manager at Umthunzi Hotel & Conference, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
we really appreciate your review, thank youNoxolo. Your comments can only help us improve our service to you, our guest which is ultimately our aim. What we have done since you were here is opened our new Terrace Deck, our Restaurant and our lovely public lounge area as well as a new reception area at the top. We are now open from 6am until 10pm. With the addition of 30 new rooms, we have dropped the name "boutique" but are in the process of changing that on all the websites, including this one. Do have a look at our website of the new Phase 2 of which we are very proud and getting lots of great reviews on. If you are in the area, please do pop in and have a look for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have to compliment the excellent service from reception when booking holiday. Enjoyed our stay, comfortable and relaxing. Very smart pool area and deck, took loads of stunning pics. Staff very friendly, not intrusive. Have already recommended to family and friends. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our weekend at Unthunzini. Our bedrooms were spacious, well appointed, king size bed, percale linen, lovely balcony overlooking the pool and a sea view thrown in for good measure. To get the view you have to brave lots of steps, but at least you are walking off the generous breakfast. Lots of lovely restaurants close by. The hotel's bar and restaurant is closed on the weekend, so B&B only. Obliging staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestvilleBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Highly recommended accommodation due to excellent customer service which surpasses anything we have seen anywhere else. The room was magnificent and the breakfast very tasty. The manageress wen out of her way to make us feel completely settled. We are confident to recommend this Hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Thank you to everyone at the hotel who made my stay a great one. Food was excellent, rooms luxurious and staff so friendly.
Will definitely come again as well as recommend you to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Shepstone
19.4 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
Oribi Gorge Hotel
Oribi Gorge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Port Shepstone
65 reviews
5.5 mi away
HillBillion Estate
HillBillion Estate
#1 of 1 in Shelly Beach
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
56 reviews
18.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
23 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kapenta Bay Hotel and Conference Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umthunzi Hotel & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umthunzi Hotel & Conference

Property: Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
Address: 60 Commercial Road | Umtentweni, Port Shepstone 4235, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Shepstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Shepstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Umthunzi Hotel & Conference 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to come to our UPMARKET but AFFORDABLE Hotel situated just an hour south of Durban on the leafy fringes of the Hibiscus Coast of South Africa. Just a 2 minute drive from the lovely beach and with panoramic seaviews overlooking the Indian Ocean & airconditioned clean rooms, our vision at UMTHUNZI is to provide a quality and comfortable experience for our guests. Relax, Refocus and Unwind while enjoying personalized service from our professional staff. Now with the exciting 30ᴼSOUTH Restaurant onsite! Our 49 exquisitely decorated rooms (some family rooms, each with its own balcony can accommodate up to 158 guests. All rooms have percale linen, solid wooden furniture, safe, air conditioner as well as a fan, a hotel DSTV Bouquet plus coffee and tea station. Honeymooners or couples can enjoy the panoramic sea view from the two Honeymoon suites with lavishly draped four poster bed, while listening to the rhythmic sounds of the waves breaking. Umthunzi also offers one lovely sea-facing deluxe suite with fully equipped self catering kitchen (sleeps 6) as well as Family Suites with quality bunk beds (Sleeps 8)EXPLORE all this fun coastline has to offer you!Umthunzi also has 2 fully equipped upmarket CONFERENCE/FUNCTION rooms as well as a BOARDROOM to make your special Function or Business event an outstanding success.Talk to us to get a PERSONALISED PACKAGE. We are wanting to meet your requirements efficiently so that you have a thoroughly professional and enjoyable conference, wedding, birthday or event that you need hosted. CemAir is now flying direct to Margate airport from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Umthunzi Hotel & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing