We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New favourite hotel”
Review of Swynford Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swynford Manor
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have just spent the weekend at this new hotel. We also stayed at its sister hotel, Poets House in Ely, two weeks ago and they have both become our favourite hotels. They both offer fabulously stylish facilities and rooms, excellent food and incredible service. Both hotels have been designed in similar styles - lots of black, grey and silver and are finished to at least 5 star levels. You feel extremely welcome the minute you arrive and nothing is too much effort for the amazing staff. If you go, you will love it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Swynford Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear PhilipB

Thank you for this review of Paddocks House. Your comments are much appreciated and received with thanks. This is our new venture that we are very excited about and to have such praise in this our soft opening is great.
Thank you again for taking the time to review and we will look forward to seeing with you at Paddocks House very soon,

Best wishes

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 216 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Went to paddocks house back in December for a meal with friends. The entrance to the hotel with its long lamplit driveway and beautiful landscaped surroundings are absolutely breathtaking. The only thing better than this is the beautiful chandelier which hangs high above the reception desk . The owners clearly have very expensive taste!!! The whole hotel is beautifully finished with the new conservatory really adding a great venue for weddings etc... After walking around open mouthed it was time to eat . Restaurant was stunning and the ambience very welcoming . Food was beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. This hotel is as good as it's sister hotel "poets house " in Ely maybe even better ???? Looking forward to visiting again and maybe staying in one of their luxurious rooms.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank jamie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Swynford Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Jamied

Thank you for your review and kind words for Paddock House. I was delighted to read your appreciation of the hotel and its design. A great deal of thought has gone into the hotel and it is always great to have your work appreciated.
Thank you again for taking the time to review and I hope we will see you back at Paddocks House soon.
Best wishes for 2014,
Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have watched the renovation of this beautiful property in our village for over a year. It was opened 3 weeks ago and we went for a family Christmas Eve lunch today. The service was second to none, cocktails excellent and the food was exceptional: high quality food at extremely reasonable prices.
Following dinner, the manager made time to proudly show us around the property, including the bedrooms, which are furnished to an impeccable standard and taste.
I can see now why the renovation has taken so long: no expense has been spared and no corners have been cut. The icing on the cake are the attentive, friendly and welcoming staff.
I look forward to making dining at Paddock House a regular event.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning, cool and classy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Swynford Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear KellyB
Thank you for your review of Paddocks House. Your comments are great to read and very much appreciated. The road to opening has been a long one but one that we are delighted to have taken and glad to be at the opening end of.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and I do hope we will see you back at Paddocks House soon.
Best regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute and we were delighted with everything they had to offer. A beautiful setting with great menu, very tasty food and excellent service from friendly staff. Great value for money. We were even shown round the sumptuous bedrooms which were extremely tasteful. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiec08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Swynford Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Katiec08,
Thank you for your review of Paddocks House and sharing your experience in our new property. I am delighted you enjoyed the experience and also that we got to show you around.
Thank you again for your review Katie and I hope we will see you back at the property soon.
Best regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I went for a Sunday lunch two weeks after the new paddocks had opened
The new look paddocks is a real addition to local dining venues
The staff were very helpful and attentive and the food was superb
I would recommend this to anyone looking for a meal and as a venue for functions the new look conservatory is splendid

I was pleasantly surprised but the quality of food given than

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank nick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Swynford Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Nick c
Thank you for your review of our new property Paddocks House. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and to read your great comments.
I hope we will be welcoming back to the hotel in time to come. In the interim our best wishes for 2014,
Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We recently enjoyed a fabulous evening at Paddocks House, There was a warm welcome followed by consistently good service all evening, Starting with drinks and nibbles in the study, we were then were taken through to a small dining room where we ate an excellent dinner, each course superb and beautifully presented, The staff were knowledgeable about the food and wines, providing good recommendations. We were shown the bedrooms and the overall impression is of a luxurious retreat; a welcome addition to Newmarket's social scene.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Swynford Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear LynF,
Thank you for your review of Paddocks House in this our opening season. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and chose to share your experience. Given that this is the beginning for our new property feedback is very important to us and coming in such a positive way makes it all the better.
Thank you again for your review LynF and I hope we will see you back again with us soon.
Best regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Comprobad la calefacción!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cris1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swynford Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swynford Manor

Address: London Road, Six Mile Bottom CB8 0UE, England (Formerly Paddocks House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Six Mile Bottom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Six Mile Bottom
Hotel Class:4 star — Swynford Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swynford Manor is an exclusive weddings & events venue located between Cambridge and Newmarket in the UK. We offer a beautiful venue and grounds for amazing weddings and fantastic corporate functions & events. Accommodation in our 13 luxurious bedrooms is available for guests attending events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Swynford Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing