We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Evening”
Review of The Ufford Crown

The Ufford Crown
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Ufford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Ufford Crown is owned and run by Max Durrant and Polly, with Polly's brother who is the Chef, Will Hardiman. We pride ourselves on our food and wines.Max has managed numerous pubs in London and the Home Counties before taking over The Crown with his vision of creating a 'go to' location with superb service, superb food and superb drink. His brother-in-law Will Hardiman runs the kitchen as Head Chef to create a real 'family team'.You'll always be given a warm welcome in the pub and the dining ranges from full meals to sandwiches and 'light bites'. Come along and 'give us a try', you won't be dissapointed. The large, light and spacious pub has a dining area, plus a bar and 'reading room' to relax in. Booking is advisable on 01394 461030 but we welcome 'walk in' diners and our menu changes daily, using local produce and quality ingredients.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Evening”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Booked a group of 13 into this pub for a birthday meal as i have heard good things about this place and we were not disappointed. We were booked in to a room set aside from the bar and restaurant and i must say it was A perfect location for a large group as you can chat and laugh without feeling that you are disturbing any other guests. Being tucked away from the main restaurant did not affect the service at all as the friendly staff came through every 5 mins to check we were all ok and looked after us throughout the evening.
As for the food, I think i can speak on behalf of the whole group that it was amazing. Every plate was empty and there was not one grumble to be had. The plates were hot, the food was presented well and tasted even better. It was nice to finally go out with a group and have every meal turn up on time and to top it off the 4 steaks at the end were cooked perfectly. Would recommend this place to all my friends without fear that they may be let down......
Thank you to all the staff... Will see you soon i'm sure

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Easton-massive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    66
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable experience and highly recommended.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were staying in Ufford as a family for a special celebration and decided to book a table for Sunday lunch after reading the excellent comments in the visitors book at the place where we were staying. We were not disappointed... The staff were most welcoming even paying attention to our little dog HoneyBear who was given a doggie treat and water. Food was amazing and served in a very timely fashion. A truly lovely eating experience which helped make our weekend away special. Thank you.. And hope to visit again one day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PurdyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant Steak”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I knew the chef was good, but the steak was amazing. Cooked perfectly, with just the right amount of sauce/gravy/jus. French fries were spot on and plenty of them.
Everything on the menu was tempting and all the dishes I saw looked delicious and ample.
The service was very friendly and efficient.
Has to be one of the best places to eat in Suffolk.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bairdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, Suffolk
Level Contributor
123 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“See, we DID return!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We last visited in March this year and vowed to return. They did it again! Lovely welcome, really imaginative menu (sort of gourmet pub food) and when I complained that my Adnams was a bit cloudy and they cheerfully changed the barrel, with profuse apologies, and brought a perfect pint. Wendy and I shared a starter of chicken liver parfait with delicious fig chutney, then I followed it with a smashing meat-ball/mozzarella ciabbata whilst Wendy had lobster bisque.
They were nicely busy for a wet Thursday lunchtime but coped very efficiently.
Excellent food and service. Good chef in there somewhere too! Very good value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spot on”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lovely place..a quite Monday lunch we both opted for there open crayfish sandwich wich was spot on..really tasty and plenty of it,we went on to have dessert wich was just as good. I had a yummy pint of cliff quays jolly Roger, great to see they stock a local smaller brewery bitter as Southwood can get a bit boring!! The land lady was so friendly even taking time to bring over some toys for our one year old. We ate in the bar area,and it was so cosy. Although we ate on a quite day you can just see it would be great when filled with a fun atmosphere..there prices are again spot on for the quality..you can see why there just opened another outlet!! Thankyou to all of you and see you again soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stupot88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ufford Crown also viewed

Bromeswell, Woodbridge
Pettistree, Woodbridge
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Ufford Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing