We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantabulosis”

The Fisherman's Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Birgham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantabulosis”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We arranged to go after my nieces wedding and as usual they catered for our every need. As some of us were not that hungry they choose from the lighter lunch menu - me I had venison and haggis meat balls and oh wow they were good.
Excellent service and convivial atmosphere. We all had a great night. Thank you guys and dolls.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    42
    17
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best eateries in the borders!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Discovered by accident ! Best meal we have had for a long time.
Excellent menu choice. Good prices.
The roast beef sirloin with accompanying vegetables were memorable and piping hot.The duck was a super size portion and delicious. Top marks for presentation too. Desserts were equally good.
Polite efficient service.
Do not drive passed without eating here.
We will be recommending and returning!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frr137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“outstanding food and service”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Outstanding food and service, went after reading visitor book comments at our cottage in Coldstream. 10mins drive away from Coldstream and Kelso. Friendly and welcoming to families with children. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying on the borders and would visit again if up this way. Advise to book in advance. Excellent menu choice and standard children's menu available.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzannet919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldstream, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent again...”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Another visit for a meal with family and another excellent night had by all. Great menu and service with good crack in the bar afterwards...everyone had a wonderful time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evening Out”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We called in on a Tuesday night in April.This was a great place to eat once again having visited it once before, the food was excellent and the staff pleasant,freindly and welcoming.There was a good choice on the menu with lots of home made deserts.Will be returning again soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fisherman's Arms also viewed

Kelso, Scottish Borders
Coldstream, Scottish Borders
 
Coldstream, Scottish Borders
 
Yetholm, Scottish Borders
Cornhill on Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The Fisherman's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing