We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best eateries in the borders!”

The Fisherman's Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Birgham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best eateries in the borders!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Discovered by accident ! Best meal we have had for a long time.
Excellent menu choice. Good prices.
The roast beef sirloin with accompanying vegetables were memorable and piping hot.The duck was a super size portion and delicious. Top marks for presentation too. Desserts were equally good.
Polite efficient service.
Do not drive passed without eating here.
We will be recommending and returning!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frr137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    41
    17
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“outstanding food and service”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Outstanding food and service, went after reading visitor book comments at our cottage in Coldstream. 10mins drive away from Coldstream and Kelso. Friendly and welcoming to families with children. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying on the borders and would visit again if up this way. Advise to book in advance. Excellent menu choice and standard children's menu available.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzannet919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldstream, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent again...”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Another visit for a meal with family and another excellent night had by all. Great menu and service with good crack in the bar afterwards...everyone had a wonderful time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evening Out”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We called in on a Tuesday night in April.This was a great place to eat once again having visited it once before, the food was excellent and the staff pleasant,freindly and welcoming.There was a good choice on the menu with lots of home made deserts.Will be returning again soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited 'The Fisherman's Arms' on a rather chilly Monday evening in March. We were visiting family and it was at their suggestion we ate there; they had had a meal two years previously but understood that it had changed hands and were unsure what it would be like.
We all had a most enjoyable meal. The quality was excellent and service faultless. We don't often visit the area but it is definitely on the recommended list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fisherman's Arms also viewed

Kelso, Scottish Borders
Coldstream, Scottish Borders
 
Coldstream, Scottish Borders
 

Been to The Fisherman's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing