We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FIFA World Football Museum
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Worth the trip even as a football fan I learned something

Very nice set up with one window poster for each world cup with actual items - shoes, gloves... read more

Reviewed May 28, 2021
SJA_16
,
Chexbres, Switzerland
Fan-tastic display of the Men and Women World Cup

I enjoyed the display of the shirts of all FIFA members, the history of the World Cup and the... read more

Reviewed March 23, 2021
sebastianv262
via mobile
Read all 768 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Zurich
from $186.98
More Info
from $68.41
More Info
from $78.67
More Info
from $98.05
More Info
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveler rating
378
241
96
36
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
378
241
96
36
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews world cup interactive games men and women great history on display great place to visit two hours couple of hours swiss francs memorabilia jerseys skills movie referee exhibits lockers tram
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 768 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

Since we have Swiss Travel Pass, we visited this museum for free. Which is great because it is actually a little expensive if we have to pay for it. Nevertheless, my husband and my son loves it!! Lots of good soccer history display, my son (5yrs old) loves the play area where you can kick some soccers in an arcade environment. Really good for kids!

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank kamanchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWFM, Manager at FIFA World Football Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2019

Dear kamanchow - Thank you for visiting the FIFA World Football Museum and also for writing your detailed review. Great that you have mentioned that the Museum in included in the Swiss Travel Pass for future visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019 via mobile

My family and I visited in early July, right after the women’s World Cup. Sadly, the vast majority of this museum is about men and is not particularly well organized. There are three areas focused on men (one short video about a woman who was the referee...for the men’s team and a few trinkets about women sprinkled throughout). The main video which lasts about 10 minutes (and is also a series of random clips, no captions, no dates or titles to tell you who is playing or what year) has ZERO women.

The very sad, free of charge, dismal women’s exhibit (see photos) has little of the special effects of the men’s section and zero inspiration. Instead, it’s in an all black room that looks like it was designed by a 2nd grader and focuses on the biases women have faced. There’s very little positive representation of women. According to this room, women playing soccer is all about struggle and sexism and not about, you know, playing good soccer.

There are booths in the middle with very short videos playing - it took a minute to figure them out (the exhibit is not staffed) and I hit my head going into a booth (they’re basically boxes on stilts and you have to stoop under the edge of the bottom to see the video). When I got into one booth, it was full of horrible objectifying caricatures and cartoons of women (see photos). Not something I want my kids to see. Again, this room is dark and dismal with tiny videos on tablets and very little representation of the most successful women’s soccer team - USA. Judging by the rest of the museum, they clearly love dramatic videos, so why not put some in the women’s exhibit too? Nice and big - not iPad size.

As another reviewer mentioned, this is a really expensive museum. Perhaps as a result, it wasn’t crowded and my kids enjoyed the games. My husband and I found the rampant sexism to be a big downer and we passed on the 26 CHF cheeseburger in the cafe in favor of lunch elsewhere. In the store you can buy a signed Modric jersey for 650 CHF but we found better selection of international soccer jerseys at street kiosks in Italy. You’d think they’d be good at selling jerseys if nothing else.

If you don’t have a problem ignoring women most of your time here, by all means, go. Let me know how the cheeseburger is!

Date of experience: July 2019
3  Thank Jsmith40104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWFM, Manager at FIFA World Football Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2019

Dear Jsmith40104 -

First, thank you for visiting the FIFA World Football Museum and taking the time to write your critical review.

We have taken note of your evaluation and will discuss it critically in the team. We respect your personal opinion, but do not agree with you, especially with regard to the free temporary special exhibition 'HEROES: Centuries Of Women's Football' which tells the story of women's football through four chapters.

1. The First Games
2. Women at War, Work and Play
3. For the Love of the Game
4. The FIFA Women’s World Cup

We would have appreciated it if you would have sought a direct exchange with us. In this way we could have explained the idea behind the special exhibition on women's football to you since we have also received a lot of positive feedback from visitors of the special exhibition as well as the permanent exhibition as you can read in many positive reviews here on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019 via mobile

My family and I had a chance to visit and it was well worth it. Tuesdays is 1/2 tickets if ordered online. We also stopped by the FIFA Headquarters building (not same location) to check out their lobby and surrounding grounds. Person inside HQ said that they give FREE tickets to the museum if you ask.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank derekn2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWFM, Manager at FIFA World Football Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2019

Dear derekn2019 - thank you for visiting the FIFA World Football Museum and for your positive review. Great that you also visited the 'Home Of FIFA'.

PLEASE NOTE:
The statement that you can get free museum tickets at the Home of FIFA is not correct. Nevertheless, a visit there is of course worthwhile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019 via mobile

The world FIFA museum is a must for football aficionados and a worthwhile couple of hours for those who know the sport.

The set up is on 3 levels, the first being a welcome circle where the jerseys of the 200+ countries who participate the tournament. A good photo opp next to your nation.

Do check out the timeline history of the tournament, with an interesting overlay of the changes to the rules of the game over time.

Then downstairs through a typical “tunnel” at the football stadium with sounds of the game played to set the tone.

The lower level is where you’ll spend most of the time, looking at the original World Cup trophy and the walls filled with the most famous footballers over the decades.

You also get to try playing commentator for a match, answer quiz questions as a referee or trying to replicate a post-goal celebratory dance of famous players.

When done, you head to the theatre for a short film on the history of the games. Note you can’t return to the second level, so make sure you’re done with the exhibits before watching the film.

You’d then take a lift to the 2nd floor where you see the impact of the tournament on communities. Try sitting in one of the music booth-chairs to play the official theme songs of each tourney.

Finally, you get to play the football pinball, where you get to kick balls into an upsized pinball set up for points. To win more balls, you need to test your kicking, dribbling and other ball skills. Fun for young and old alike.

Top off your visit with a trip to the gift shop to pick up something to remember of your 2 hours here.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Mellowsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWFM, Manager at FIFA World Football Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2019

Dear Mellowsg - thank you very much for your long and detailed review and even more for visiting the FIFA World Football Museum. Your kind words are a great motivation for the whole team to keep up the good work.

For future visitors: If you would like to return to the exhibition's start area after the movie, please contact our staff. For architectural reasons, the museum is planned to be one-way, but of course on the day of your visit we will allow visitors to visit the exhibition again if they feel they have missed something.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2019

Good start, a lower floor full of FIFA history and WORLD CUPS, all editions. Details and memorabilia. The short movie is also fantastic, rocking I'd say! I even got goosebumps!
The last floor is for children mainly, so we totally skipped it. If you go with kids, book 1h just for this section, they will just love it and go absolutely crazy. Ah, the shop, just ok, quite expensive in my opinion. 20 e for a Worldcup trophy magnet, is not too much?

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Carmelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWFM, Manager at FIFA World Football Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2019

Dear Carmelo P - Thank you very much for visiting the FIFA World Football Museum and for your great and detailed review and many information for future visitors. Thank you also for your comments regarding the shop, which we will share and discuss with the management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews