We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding ”
Review of Kronenhalle

Kronenhalle
Ranked #65 of 2,040 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Reviewed December 14, 2018 via mobile

One of the best dining experiences in Zurich. But it’s as crowded as the best. Food quality is outstanding. Beef stroganoff & veal are excellent dishes. We also ordered avocado & crab meat. The wine list is long & superb. Most customers spend time at the bar pre-dinner. That’s also part of the experience as you can admire famous artists work, including Picasso, Miro & others. A must dining experience but make a reservation with plenty of time.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank fdoaguirre57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2018

Dear Kronenhalle Guest

Thank you for being our Ambassador!

We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Christian Dangel & Kronenhalle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2018 via mobile

Went there for a few drinks last weekend with a few friends and couldn't have received better customer service. Anthony, Christian, and David really went above and beyond to ensure that we had a great experience.

The atmosphere was very relaxed and somewhat more "upscale". The gin and tonics were actually really good as well as the prosecco. Only downfall of this place is that I would never again pay $23 for a gin and tonic. That being said, great laid back atmosphere with outstanding service!

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank SteveRainville99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2018

Dear Steve

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Kronenhalle Bar!

Sorry for the prices, but this is Zurich and additionally you have great original arts on the walls.... where else can you relax nipping on a drink under Picasso or Chagall?

Best regards

Christian Dangel & Kronenhalle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2018 via mobile

Choose their Calf Liver if was super tasty, Excellent. A real good place to have a fine dining experience. There is so much more in the menu to choose from. I shall surely return.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank cheers224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2018

Dear Kronenhalle Guest

Thanks and see you again soon!

Best regards

Christian Dangel & Kronenhalle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

It's not our 1st visit. We come back whenever we're after fine dining. The upper floor seems to be less crowded and more agreeable than the ground floor. For aperitif we asked for Prosecco but they carry only Champagne which is quite expensive for 20-25 francs, so settled for Campari. The courgette soup is excellent. The ground beef slices with mushrooms, red cabbage and mashed potatoes in classical brown sauce were also outstanding. For dessert: the famous mousse au chocolat and creme caramel. We forgot to ask them without whip cream. A most reliable place with very nice and intimate service. You pay 50 francs more than in any other good place but it's worth the money.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Zurich71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2018

Dear Kronenhalle Guest

Thank you for being our Ambassador!

To many happy returns and best regards

Christian Dangel & Kronenhalle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

Another unique Zürich restaurant visited by the rich and famous and the less wealthy unknowns.
A very special architecture and interior décor provides a very special atmosphere.
Excellent traditional cuisine and roasts with very fine high-end service.
Yes those are originals hanging on the walls.
Top notch, not for the small purse!

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank philallen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2018

Dear Phil

Yes, those are originals!

Thanks for your lovely comments and best regards

Christian Dangel & Kronenhalle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kronenhalle also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Kronenhalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.