We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enge - 2 different rooms, 2 different prices, same food”

China Restaurant SUAN-LONG
Ranked #1,465 of 1,896 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $18 - $31
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enge - 2 different rooms, 2 different prices, same food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Bahnhof Enge - I picked this restaurant to go with work colleagues on a Wednesday by 12.30. First thing to notice when stepping in is the intense, almost suffocating smell of Chinese food. It's not bothering me that much, but one of my colleagues starts to loudly complain about it.

So we quickly find out there's no vacant table for 5 persons, and the waiter informs there are still free tables in an "exclusive" room, what turns out to be a "fancier" area separated from the main room, but still on the same restaurant.

It was not as full as the main room, so we decided to stay. Tables are arrenged differently, looks almost like a different restaurant. As we spoke about it, we got the Menu and confirmed that all the options are the same as in the other room.

Food was tasty, moods got better. At least until paying the bill.

The biggest surprise of that day was the fact that if you sit in this exclusive room, you will be charged almost double the price for the SAME food that it's being served next door.

As nobody informed us on that, we felt bad about it. Shouldn't they let us know? Ok, we could have asked the prices perhaps when ordering the food, but it never crossed our minds that a different room equals double charge for exaclty same food..

So overall food is good and I recommend. Few things could be improved such as service, efficiency, atmosphere. And look out for invitations for the "exclusive room" (for visitors on the Enge unit).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bmkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had just arrived in Zurich and our B&B was close and we were hungry so we ate here. The staff definitely has an attitude (maybe just to Americans) and the food was just okay. With so many great restaurants in Zurich and in the neighborhood, this wasn't a very good choice by us. It did fill us up and we got out relatively cheap but we will look elsewhere the next time we are in Zurich.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tgsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
344 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food near Zurich Bellevue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have been coming here for a few years for lunch - there are often a lot of students and the food is priced accordingly. It's a kind of self-service - pick out your food at the counter, then bring it to a table or sit outside. Some English spoken. Food consistently good and the prices for the self service food are excellent for Switzerland. You can order a la carte, but it costs a bit more. This is a chain with at least three more outlets, one in Zurich main station, one near Enge station, Selnaustrasse, etc.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Electroburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Top Restaurant . . . . .to AVOID”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Service
Horrible. Ask to speak to the Manager. Reply was that the Manager didn't want to see us.
Later when a dispute arise, Manager came out and said, you SHOULD have asked to see the manager! The Manager even push our tour leader and wanted to pick a fight.

W.T.F.

Food - Not Bad. However, portion was GROSSLY inadequate.
Just imagine, a bowl of soup for 16 people. When each filled our small individual bowl, the soup only lasted until middle of the table (about 10 people).

When the fruit platter came, it was HORRIBLE. 1 orange + 1 Apple cut into 8 slices each. We initially thought that it was for 8 of us (half the table), at least we could have 1 slice of orange and a slice of apple . . . . . but it was for the 16 of us. So we had to choose, Apple or Orange.

We left a dissatisfied group.
And there was like 54 of us in the group.

We gave feedback to the travel agent and STRONGLY recommend that they discontinue their services.

AVOID . . . . unless you dying of hunger and there is no other food around!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin_Lim_Kieng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just poor, poor service, terrible attitude, worst place to have a meal even if you can't afford anywhere else in Switzerland.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very poor attitude from floor captain and even worse attitude from manager/owner. Will recommend customers to never enter this restaurant even if this is the only place you can afford(even though this restaurant is not cheap) just can't emphasis enough how bad this place is. Never seen a restaurant where they emphasis customers are always wrong. This restaurant promotes gangsterism. Such a disgrace to Asians and Chinese.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vincentseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Restaurant SUAN-LONG also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to China Restaurant SUAN-LONG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing