We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Swiss food”

Rheinfelder Bierhalle
Get food delivered
Ranked #139 of 2,138 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Reviewed June 30, 2016

This place is for a quick no-pretense meal, something like you'd get at a McDonald, but seated and served.. Swiss classical meat dishes, going well with fries or salad, and a glass of beer. However, there is ample place to sit outside, in the bustling Niederdorf district. Good service, average prices.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lilliputz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 688 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

Tired of international food served in the hotel, we went out in search of some local atmosphere. Having dismissed several Italian restaurants (you can get that in any city) we came across this busy "pub".
There are plenty of tables on the pavement and even on a damp Saturday these were quite busy, but we opted for a table inside. Clearly plenty of locals eat here. For Switzerland, beer and food were well priced. Plenty of choice of beers - I went for the dark local beer which was excellent. Cordon Bleu was good and served with a large portion of fries and vegetables. My friend had beef and rosti which was also good and a very ample portion.
Service was efficient and the waiting staff managed to keep up with the busy-ness of the place. Beer came quickly and food wasn't far behind.
Would definitely return.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

A rough place where you can drink a beer or a wine, but you shall try original Swiss meet dishes cooked in the middle of the old town! Fair prices

Date of visit: June 2016
3  Thank GSM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016

I was visiting Zurich for a weekend, and after a recommendation and some research I decided to visit this restaurant for the Jambo Gordon Bleu. The Gordon Blue itself was ok but the fries were even worse than McDonalds fries. This place was on the expensive side for mediocre food. I can understand it is a local joint but some of the local clientele took it a little bit too far with the stearing. One last thing....people get some cash with you as this place does not accept credit cards!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank panagiotis v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

Average in everything except the prices. Overpriced for the quality of food and service, but still, the better quality alternatives are more overpriced. The menu is quite short. Pick it if you want to stay on relatively low budget but eat better than in a fast food chain.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank HotelCooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rheinfelder Bierhalle also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Rheinfelder Bierhalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.