We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rössti-place!”

Rheinfelder Bierhalle
Ranked #150 of 1,946 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Taby, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Rössti-place!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Easy to find in the Old Town. Big tables allowing us to find two free chairs among other guests. Very nice atmosphere. Good food and excellent Rössti. Several kinds to choose from.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    235
    77
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Cheap but not always cheerful”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We came here on a Friday night, there wre four of us and we had no reservation. We were looking for a place out of the cold that wasn't 50CHF a main and that served good Swiss food. I did no research on this place, but guessed judging by the number of people inside that it was at least worth a try. We were lucky to get a table, the waiter squeezed four chairs around a corner table that probably was really only meant for two; it was intimate!
The service is 'different' - definitely no frills, you get what you get, it is so loud one must shout to be heard and although the menu is in English the waiter was not prepared to switch for my non German speaking friends. Nonetheless we all ordered and received out food fairly promptly, it was probably only 30 mins between arriving and ordering that we waited for the food to be on the table. I opted for the pork steak - it was really good, and came served with rösti (i asked for that instead of the chips, it was a much better serve!), red cabbage and spinach. One of the others had the Züri Gschnätzlets which according to her was fine and my other colleague had the beef stew with spätzli - they all seemed to like their meal.
If you don't mind a bit of hustle and bustle at dinner (if nothing else it provided us with entertainment) and you don't mind having to shout to order, then you should give this place a go. The food is good quality and the price is right, for the four of us we only paid something like 30CHF each and we all had a main and a beverage. In the Old Town in Zürich that is a steal.
Think of it as an 'experience' that you may not have the opportunity to have again, especially at the low prices we paid!
If you want quality, hearty food and don't mind the shouting, give this place a go! ;)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz_D27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

The reviews are uncannily accurate. Service is brusque and there was a strange thumping (of people going up and down the stairs? ) throughout our meal. The dishes were simple but the schnitzel for the jumbo set was delicious. Relatively cheap meal by Zurich standards.

Helpful?
Thank Happy2bHome_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slow service, classical swiss food”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

You can take relaxed a bier outside the bar, in the main street of Zurich, but if you are pressed, no way to speed up. You have to wait and accept that the service is pretty random. Anyhow food is not bad and you can take classical swiss food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaetano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“bring the family for the Jumbo Jumbo”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Good, honest, down-to-earth Swiss food. the Cordon Bleu pork schnitzel (the jumbo Jumbo) is immense!!! In the heart of Zurich's old town and a piece of local history itself. Welcoming to tourists and locals alike.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TACustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rheinfelder Bierhalle also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Rheinfelder Bierhalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing