We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional menu / central location”

Rheinfelder Bierhalle
Ranked #116 of 1,918 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: German, Swiss, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Lugano
Level Contributor
270 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Traditional menu / central location”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This old traditional 'Bierhaus' caters for a wide selection of dishes with some very reasonable dishes. Its located in the heart of the 'Niederdorf' pedestrian area close to Central. The place was very busy but the food very nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    231
    74
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Fun restaurant to sit outside and people watch. Very crowded, and apparently only two servers for about 60 tables outside made for a somewhat chaotic scene. Our waitress claimed not to speak English when I first asked, but between my rudimentary German and her limited English we got by. I had the cordon bleu (not the jumbo), and substituted rosti for the fries, while my wife had a sausage w/ rosti. Including salads and beers it came in just around 60 ch (reasonable for Zurich). The food was pretty good but not great, and there was a good selection of local beer that was excellent. lots of activity on the street to entertain you if you sit outside. I wouldn't come here for a gourmet experience; but I'm come here for decent food, good beer, and a lot of fun.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
1,468 reviews
811 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 783 helpful votes
“Ok, german food but pricey”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Visited here with a friend. Restaurant with a small down home feel. We opted for the beef sausage in onion sauce and rosti potatoes and the schnitzel and fries with a side of veggies.

The food was good, but far from outstanding. We also had a beer, water, a glass of wine with our meal which cost roughly CHF 72. The service was friendly, but for the cost of our meal, I would certainly opt for a different place for dinner for better food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FormerCaliBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown,SVG
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good food & beer! great service, reasonably priced, lots of customers depending on the time you visit be prepared to possibly wait on a seat. Friendly staff & they speak good English. Tips: walk with cash no credit card machine and if needed their is an English Menu.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J8Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good money for value”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

good, cheap and big- sized food and beer in the zurich city center near the main train station... it has one disadvantage though: they accept cash only

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tanatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rheinfelder Bierhalle also viewed

 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Rheinfelder Bierhalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing