We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice variety of Vegan food ”
Review of Hiltl Dachterrasse

Hiltl Dachterrasse
Ranked #85 of 2,142 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $62
Description: The green oasis above Zurich's roofs On the first of September the Hiltl Dachterrasse on the PKZ WOMEN at Bahnhofstrasse 88 in Zurich opens its roofs. The restaurant offers healthy delight with its loved Hiltl Buffet and Take Away in a stylish ambience. As a comfortable café and an elegant bar it invites you all day long to high quality coffee and tea specialties and tasteful cocktails. All this is located on two big rooftops with a view to the lively Bahnhofstrasse in the middle of Zurich. The Hiltl Dachterasse is an oasis in the city and a perfect location for a little shoppingbreak.
Restaurant details
Description: The green oasis above Zurich's roofs On the first of September the Hiltl Dachterrasse on the PKZ WOMEN at Bahnhofstrasse 88 in Zurich opens its roofs. The restaurant offers healthy delight with its loved Hiltl Buffet and Take Away in a stylish ambience. As a comfortable café and an elegant bar it invites you all day long to high quality coffee and tea specialties and tasteful cocktails. All this is located on two big rooftops with a view to the lively Bahnhofstrasse in the middle of Zurich. The Hiltl Dachterasse is an oasis in the city and a perfect location for a little shoppingbreak.
Reviewed February 26, 2018 via mobile

Nice terrace and ambience for lunch, I was amazed by the variety of vegan dishes in the buffet. Tasty food.

Thank Kati P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl Dachterrasse, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Thank you Kati P for your visit at Hiltl Dachterrasse and your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to hear, that you were amazed by our variety of dishes and hopefully see you soon. Warm regards,
Jenny & Hiltl-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 170 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

Moderately priced ,good food and friendly service ...loved the selection ,perfect setting for lunch .

Thank Virender S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl Dachterrasse, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Thank you Virender S for your visit at Hiltl Dachterrasse and your review. We hope to welcome you back soon and we send you warm regards,
Jenny & Hiltl-crew


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile

Good food , attentive service and a great selection of home made drinks ... very good ambience and decor

Thank foodie-zurich222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl Dachterrasse, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Dear foodie-zurich222

Thank you very much for your visit at Hiltl Dachterrasse and your positive feedback. We're happy, that we could delight you with our fresh and homemade food offer and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards, Jenny & Hiltl-crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018

Excellent food, great service, fantastic dining experience. However there are few concerns

1) This is not the first vegetarian restaurant in the world. I have met the management who claims that this is the first documented vegetarian restaurant and they agree that none of the Indian restaurants in India have not made this claim as being a pure veg restaurant is not uncommon in India but something uncommon in Europe. Thus this is not the ''real' first veg restaurant.

2) While they have excellent ambience, the experience is a decent canteen self serviced food. Why so expensive?

3) The concept is a ''clear lift'' from traditional Indian food, why hide Indian identity and give Swiss flavour to it? why cant this restaurant claim this as authentic pure veg Indian restaurant? To confuse the customers, they have conveniently added ''few'' non Indian veg food too in the mix so that they can claim it differently.

If they can address these 3 concerns, it will probably be the best Indian food in Swiss.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Balu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl Dachterrasse, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Dear Balu B

Thank you for your visit at Hiltl Dachterrasse and your feedback.

We're glad to hear, that we could delight you with our fresh and homemade food offer and our service. In 1898, Ambrosius Hiltl founded the world's first vegetarian restaurant according Guinness World Records and we'd be happy to answer your questions, if you sent us a message to guestrelations@hillt.ch. We're sure, we can minimize your concerns and we're looking forward to hearing from you.

Our best,
Jenny & Hiltl-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

Lovely ambience unbelievable variety of Veg food in buffet. You will enjoy the experience and forget Non/ vegetarian food. Wide variety of desserts to chose from.

2  Thank Kapil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl Dachterrasse, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Thank you Kapil G for your visit at our Hiltl Dachterrasse and your very positive feedback.
See you hopefully soon & warm regards,
Jenny & Hiltl-crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiltl Dachterrasse also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Hiltl Dachterrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing