We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience with some flaws”
Review of Les Halles

Les Halles
Ranked #171 of 1,956 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Escher Wyss
Scarborough
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Average experience with some flaws”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I went there with a couple of friends and tried the mussels with fries, whch was offered for lunch. Staff was courteous, friendly and the venue is set in retro look in some sort of warehouse, which was somewhat pleasant.
The mussels, although being in season were tiny and so was the side of fries. The meal costed 30.5 Chf, which is not really a bargain for small mussels with a little portion of fries and a soda. After the meal I wanted to wash my hands and to my dismay, I had discovered, that the soap was thinned with water. This in my book is something one can do at home but is a no-go for any restaurant. I don't plan to be back there anytime soon. The food tasted decent but was bad value in my opinion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gone_aforeign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    127
    32
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great alternative please”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Cool place for a drink or a simply dinner cooked on request all Ina laid back somewhat retro setting - cosy place - also linked up to a bio food market/ deli....certainly recommend for something different!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DcommeDusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“of the beaten track”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

uncompicated, relaxed & easy. no dresscode. fine organic food. good price. nice atmosphere. that's why i love it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zwitscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not just a restaurant but an experience”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

First time i walked in i sat down the chairs wobbled, you had to go to get your beer and order food , but then it just grew on me. You sit with your drink, you look around and are in another world. Everything from pinball to football tables, bio supermarket and the best moules frites in zurich. Another tip is when the tour de france is on watch it here on the large screen. Sitting between bikes hanging from the ceiling doesn't happen every day. Remember to get there soon after thebkitchen opens as i have experienced the moules to run out, so they are fresh

Helpful?
Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unique, bohemienne, great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I go to Les Halles quite often: rather than the usual iced atmosphere of Zurich restaurant Les Halles offers a warm environment without being as loud as a beer bar. French food and an outstanding internal Italian food shop . . . also unique in Zurich. Les Halles being an ex car garage is bohemienne and good for any type of people. The great thing is you pay as you go and when you are done you just stand and leave without having to wait the bill.
ONLY THING TO KEEP IN MIND: Credit Card not accepted. The price for a whole meal, including wine goes from USD 35 to 70, depending on the wine. The Italian food shop is also an extra-good enoteque so . . . you just add USD 25 to the label price of any bottle and you can take it to your table. Otherwise you can get wine from the bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank labiodola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Halles also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Les Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing