We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude and hostile service”
Review of Ban Song Thai

Ban Song Thai
Ranked #58 of 1,918 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $46
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Thai Restaurant est. 1995, Since same owner. No MSG. A la carte evenings: exclusively bio beef, Mangrove sustainable shrimp, bio porc. Only best quality products.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rude and hostile service”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were very much looking forward to a nice Thai meal after 10 days of eating potatoes and cheese. It was a hot day so we asked for some tap water to accompany our meal (which would have added up to CHF 130). The waitress informed us that she would be charging CHF 3.00 per person "for service" for having to clean the glasses and the water carafe - this is a practice which we had not encountered in other restaurants. So, we opted not to order water and instead poured ourselves some water from our own water bottles that we had with us. When she saw this, she became very agitated and chastised us as if we were children. We decided to cancel our order (that had been made just 3 minutes prior) and left. We informed her that we were leaving and she yelled at us: "Have a nice life!" in angry sarcasm. Not cool.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandernotlost1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruedi R, Inhaber at Ban Song Thai, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Customers
I'm very sorry for the bad experience you four had at our restaurant. You are right, the way our waitress reacted was not correct. I apologize this misbehaviour.
- To make our policy clear: The price of water is sFr. 3.—for a half liter carafe. If you order a coffee or any other drink it would be for free.
The Sfr. 130.-- you mentioned would have been the total amount for the food of four persons including appetizers and service charge.
If it happens you are near by some day I would be happy to invite you for a drink.
All the best
Ruedi Rickli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    97
    22
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very authentic Thai”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

we were looking for a nice little Thai place in Zurich and I guess you can't go better than this. You're being welcomed by the typical Thai friendliness and the authentic interior where even the picture of the King did not miss. The flavors took me right back to Thailand, authentic, rich but light at the same time. All in all, it was lovely and I'm sure we'll come back. To mention as well is the online reservation system that they use, which works perfectly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lydiabaenziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruedi R, Inhaber at Ban Song Thai, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Sawasdee dear lydiabaenziger
Thank you for this positive feedback. I will pass the compliment on to my staff.
Hope to see you soon back in our Restaurant.
Yours, Ruedi Rickli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent thai food in a cosy restaurant”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I am a huge fan of thai food, and I have very high expectations, but this place lived up to my expectations in spades!
The service was perfect and the food was just as it should be. I'd love to come back to this place!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Helle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruedi R, Inhaber at Ban Song Thai, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Sawasdee khun Helle
It is a pleasure to read your note.
We look forward to see you coming back to our place!
Good luck.
Ruedi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice real Thai in Europ”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A small restaurant near the old town of Zurich. the serve nice & delicious Thai food. if you like it spice ask for it as the cook it mild..

the place is nice , cozy & service is excellent..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdulrahman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruedi R, Inhaber at Ban Song Thai, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Abdulrahram
Thank you for taking the time to send a feedback. It is a great pleasure when we can satisfy the needs of a costumer and make one happy. Good luck to you and hope to see you soon.
Ruedi Rickli & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We got sick as soon as we left”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Thé food was very expensive but tasty. We did enjoy the food, however 5 min after we left thé restaurant we were all sick.

Pad Thai noodles....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimexilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruedi R, Inhaber at Ban Song Thai, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear unhappy custumer

We are very sorry that you felt so bad after eating at our restaurant. It is important for us to emphasize that we work only with prime quality food products. As the restaurant is quite popular, the turnover of food is guaranteed so we do not have to sell old or low quality stuff. We take great care of cleanliness, which is officially certified, regularly. It seems you could not tolerate our food – or was it the service or the atmosphere, or, …? We hope you are well again. All the best.

Ruedi Rickli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ban Song Thai also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Ban Song Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing