We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Didi's Frieden

Didi's Frieden
Ranked #5 of 1,955 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $98
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Went to this restaurant for dinner on a Saturday night. Completely full and heaving. The service is good and so is the food and wine. However, I think they cannot cope with the crowd. We had to wait nearly an hour for the main course and another very large group of 20 people were waiting even longer. The waiters were very busy and it could have been because of the large group it was slow. The chocolate mousse was divine. However, i would go back to the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gailZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    134
    27
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Absolute top choice for me in Zurich”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Modern and beautifully presented, yet properly substantial (I do like chunky meat, not the fancy unique-texture forms) dishes from the gratis per-starters to the desserts.
Also, great selection of wines at the reasonable prices, including several weekly specials that can be ordered by a glass.
Friendly service - the waitress was very nice about us sharing the dessert plates.

It's a stylish place with nice seating outside, but you could look also good wearing smart jeans. Just nicely not too much over the top.
And the dessert plates are definitely must here - with a very cute illustration done by the chocolate around the plate. (of course, the dessert itself is also tasty)

I had
- Scallop grill, turbot carpaccio on Zucchini bed
- Saddle of venison with truffle flavoured taglierini
- Wine cream on a salad of grapes

Mind you, this place definitely needs a reservation while a head for Friday/Saturday evenings.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cake_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Updated take on traditional Swiss food”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal here. The food was very light and fresh but still traditionally swiss. We had schnitzel and pike as our entrees and both were exceptional. The staff was knowledgable and helpful. Our waitress made excellent recommendations on local wines. The location is very convenient-close to the main train station. The dining room is airy and attractive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PCHoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quality food and service”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We picked this restaurant because it was only a short distance from our hotel (The Continental)and had very good revues on tripadvisor. We went on a Saturday night and by about 8.00 pm it was full, so booking ahead is strongly advised. It is located in a quiet residential area about ten minutes walk from the station but despite being slightly out of the centre the restaurant has a real buzz to it. The service was excellent provided by some young friendly waitresses who spoke excellent English ( English menu available). The menu choice was inspired and we were in fact spoilt for choice. Particularly impressed with the desserts we ordered - rasberries and vanilla on a sponge base and the chef had inscribed an intricated cartoon drawing in chocalate on the plates which indicates the level of attention to detail. My only negative is that it is quite expensive although probably about average by Zurich standards!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightonEgghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food and a bit overpriced”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We went Didi's Frieden because the good ratings and friends which told us to go there.
As usual, as family with two small children on a Monday evening with just a few other guests in the restaurant.
Didi's Frieden is located near the Central of Zurich and very close to the Main Train station. Across the road there plenty car parks which need to be paid but you can find free car parks around the area too. The "garden" of the restaurant has nothing to do with a garden (four walls around).

The choice on the card is not very large and lack the smaller dishes which is good for children. There is no extra children card but the cook got us 2 potions of pasta separate.

The service was friendly and better then other places but the time from order to have the food on the table was nearly an unacceptable 45 minutes!

Beside everything, the food is very good and from a high quality - exactly what you expect in a city like Zurich and a location what Didi's Frieden try to be. Unfortunately, the potions are pretty small so if you very hungry, better go somewhere else.

What is small on the potions, is large on the price - our starter had the same price as in other locations the main course.

Verdict:

+ Food
+ Service
+ an extra friendliness

- price
- waiting time

I can't understand the good rating of this restaurant - specially if you a international traveler. It's not bad - but not good enough for the price!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Didi's Frieden also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Didi's Frieden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing