We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and very attentive but not overbearing service.”
Review of Kindli

Kindli
Ranked #7 of 1,944 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and very attentive but not overbearing service.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Top quality food in a cute old town back street. We had the truffle risotto and local boar ham with fresh figs for starters (both sensational) then my fiance had the local Swiss dish of veal with chanterelles and cream sauce and potato rosti- amazing! I devoured the HUGE, melt-in-the-mouth tender veal chop, best veal in a long time!

The service was top notch, the only thing to mar our visit was the wine. We ordered a not-cheap Burgundy, only to discover it was not as advertised on the menu as the winery's top Premier Cru wine, but their second label...we sent if back since not happy to pay the premium when if was only a lesser wine. We then selected a similar standard wine, which turned out to be oxidized. As did the second bottle they opened....we chose to settle for the original wine that was opened, for a lesser price (rather than keep trialling wines which may also be the same if stored incorrectly?) but then when tasted, if was also oxidized. The staff were very obliging to replace and keep opening wines, but we ended up having their house wine by the glass...ah well, got the job done and we saved our money for sensational cocktails a few doors down the street...now that's another top review...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    140
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Solid”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Food well prepared and the staff well trained. I had the traditional tafelspitz - very good. Not a thing wrong with this restaurant, but nothing exciting and magical about it either.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyable”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This city center restaurant is housed in an historic building dating back to 1474. The polished wood paneling, coffered ceiling, leather banquets and chairs with linen covered tables, are elegant yet warm and inviting. We were served a complimentary champagne upon being seated. Kindli serves classic European cuisine with some modern twists. Veal, Beef, Fish, all are incredible, you won't be disappointed. There's a fabulous wine list too. And the desserts are not only delicious but beautiful. Our service was friendly, attentive but not intrusive which I think is a sign of a great wait staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worth a try”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service with a great variety of food. Definitely will come again for the next visit . the veal in zurich style is a must try if you are not a cow lover

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank damonhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant in old city”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We recently had a memorable evening sitting outside enjoying a delicious dinner at the Kindli. I have never been before but my husband goes often for work lunches. The wait staff recognized him and greater him by name, a good start!
Our waiter was friendly and efficient, noticing that my husband and I spoke English together he spoke to me in English and my husband in German. Impressive! We started with a lovely Iceland chilled glass of champagne that was brought with lovely little pastry flutes, delicate and buttery.

For the starter I had the avocado and shrimp cocktail. A nice sized portion and with nice presentation. My husband had the carpaccio to start and said it was excellent! For the main course I was tempted and ordered the Lobster, outside of Brittany this was the best lobster I have eaten! Not freakishly large, perfectly cooked, and not chewy or tough at all. Wonderful! My husband ordered the Zurich speciality of "Zuri" Geschnetzeltes, good quality meat pieces and lightly seasoned served with rosti. A lovely meal topped of with a shared dessert of chocolate mousse.
From start to finish this was a great evening made even better by great people watching and stellar service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marlena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kindli also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Kindli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing