We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good decoration- bad food”
Review of Churrasco

Churrasco
Ranked #731 of 1,928 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $31 - $88
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good decoration- bad food”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We ordered a Caesar's salad and one small stake each... The Caesar's was the worst I have ever eaten. It was incredibly salty. The steaks' cooking was not very accurate (the 'raw' wasn't raw enough) and the service was average, all these coming at a relatively high price. The only upside was the unique decoration, although it may not be appealing to all audiences.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    101
    62
    45
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
maastricht
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Way too expensive”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had good gazpacho (cold cucumber, tomato and bell pepper soup). Then the smallest-sized steak with chips, mineral water and house wine (no dessert, no cocktail). We had to wait about an hour for the steak to be grilled. The bill was 175 Francs for 2, which is the double of what it's worth. A rip-off.
Customers who come to this Churrasco with the expectancy that a simple grill-house will not attack their wallets, are advised to think otherwise.
Food for thought: next day, we ate in the garden of Baur au Lac (one of the most posh hotels of Zürich), having champagne, another steak with chips, followed by a delicious dessert for 250. That is not much more than what I paid for in the simple Churrasco steak house. I felt less ripped-off at Baur au Lac (and stayed there for a long time enjoying the views).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great steak!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Decorated in the style of the Gaucho Grills in London, on a budget, but still attractive. The starters and the steaks and wine were excellent, but badly let down by the clearly frozen chips. Homemade triple cooked chips would improve this restaurant beyond all recognition. Service was delightful and when I told them I was a fan of the Gaucho Grills they took me on a tour of the place to show how they had done it! Overall, not cheap (but typical for Zurich) but a really good meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I7592SFamandap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

It is a great steak house with a good service, although the prices are a bit at the higher end.

Helpful?
1 Thank duckyduck50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very tasty meat”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I've been there two times (in 2010 and 2011) before the last (Feb '12), always in group with friends. It looks like the restaurant is now under new management. The interiors of the back dining hall have been renewed and the waiters looked faster and more friendly. The meat was very tasty and tender as usual (I had a 250 g bife de lomo, delicious). After 10 pm on a Saturday the place was almost empty and very quite, so actually it turned out to be an optimal option for a 10-people-table like ours.
The only real con is the price, not including any side dish, to be chosen separately.
But it's anyway downtown Zürich.... And who knows how expensive beef in Switzerland could be will ot be so surprised.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churrasco also viewed

 

Been to Churrasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing