We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“forced to pay tips!!”

Restaurant Swiss Chuchi
Ranked #28 of 1,892 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“forced to pay tips!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Used to like it a lot and whenever there are friends visitng Switzerland, I will definitely bring them to Swiss Chuchi to have a try of good Swiss local food. However, after yesterday lunch, this action has to be reconsidered. There was a waiter who forced us to pay a 10% service charge that was not listed in the menu card, and insisted that this is a new policy of the restaurant and only at their restaurant but not in others. While I understand the 8% service tax already kind of included service charge, customers should not be expected to pay anything extra involuntarily. Requested to speak with the manager, and a senior waiter came where he explained that the 10% service charge is not necessary, but it's more or less like the tipping system in the States. At the end, we left the table without paying the 10% service charge, yet I saw the other table who is as well Asian, were forced to pay that 10% without knowing how to bargain. Poor him. And I bet this action only applies to Asian customers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabizrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia R, Manager at Restaurant Swiss Chuchi, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Lily L

We apologise for the incident that happened to you at our restaurant.

In fact, in Switzerland waiting staff receive a salary with which they can afford more than their necessaries. However, for the hard work they do and the unusual working hours they have it is a common treat in Switzerland to give a waiter a tip for the good service they have done; but it is absolutely not compulsory.

Not to misconceive the service tax of 8% on the bill; this is the value-added tax (VAT) and does not go to the pocket of the waiter but of the government.

Nevertheless, we will initiate an information session for our service team on how to properly explain the tipping system in Switzerland to our customers.

It would be a pleasure to have you back in our restaurant one day and to show you the result of our information session.

Kind Regards,

Nadia Ritzmann
Chef de Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    676
    242
    82
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Fondu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

After walking for almost 1.5km, my wife and I were delighted to find this restaurant that served Fondu. Had to wait for 30 mins for a table, but the Fondu was good. Had ordered Potato and Cheese soup as well, which was very very good!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anil3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia R, Manager at Restaurant Swiss Chuchi, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Anil3003

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Our staff members will be delighted to hear about your positive experience at Swiss Chuchi.

Best Regards,

Nadia Ritzmann
Chef de Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to try local fondu and saw a place full of people and also a sticker from tripadvisor so we decided to try.
We waited for half an hour the table. When we order it took a lot of time to bring us the food. We order 1 fondu for 2 persons but in the bill we saw that they tried to charge for 2 fondu so we asked to cancell 1...(the price was 38€ for one).
So the food was not so tasty,service not so good. And will not recommend to any body.

Helpful?
Thank annaslu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia R, Manager at Restaurant Swiss Chuchi, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear annaslu82

As you say our restaurant was full which is the case almost every evening. If the price and the product would not be reasonable we probably would not have so many customers.

For the waiting time we fully agree, if you do not reserve a table you might have to wait more than 30 minutes. However, the cheese fondue is usually served within a few minutes and we apologise for your long wait as apparently the service was not as fast as it should be.

Your waiter took your order absolutely correctly. An order of a fondue for two means two portions and that will double up not only the amount of cheese in your pot but also the price. Nevertheless, we know that misunderstandings can occur; hence the waiter was so kind to cancel one of your portions.
As mentioned already above, the prices in our restaurant are very much comparable with if not even lower as in other restaurants in Zurich. You must have understood something wrong on your bill as the prices of one cheese fondue range between 21.25€ and 32.90€ (25.50 – 39.50 CHF) depending on the type of fondue. Our prices you can also see on the website of the Hotel Adler.

For any future visit, please let a manager in charge know about anything you are not happy about and we will deal with it on the spot.

We hope you will reconsider your opinion and visit us once again. We will gladly explain you our portions and prices and advise you accordingly to not let you down on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Nadia Ritzmann
Chef de Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“tasty fondue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I am not a fan of Fondue but here I decide to try it again and I really enjoyed it. The outdoor seating on a nice October evening with some wine and Fondue worked quite well. The waitress we had was very responsive and helped us pick the right Fondue for us.

Overall a great dinner and would return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia R, Manager at Restaurant Swiss Chuchi, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Stephen G,

We thank you for your positive feedback.

It is a pleasure to hear that we could change your opinion on cheese fondue.

We would be happy to see you again at Swiss Chuchi.

Kind Regards,

Nadia Ritzmann
Chef de Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional Swiss place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The smell of the fondue is just amazing as you get it,but if you wanna try it I would recommend you to take one for two person,it's a big one,as I saw most of the tables was with leftovers, we do eat quite a bit but couldn't finish it.
I would definitely recommend it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RAYDER_MACAHDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia R, Manager at Restaurant Swiss Chuchi, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear RAYDER_MACAHDO,

Thank you for recommending our restaurant Swiss Chuchi.

We know that some people cannot eat a whole portion of cheese fondue, thus a lighter dish and a fondue to be shared between two is always a great option.

However, we want show our guests the tradition of Switzerland and Swiss people love their cheese. If you believe it or not some swiss customers even ask for more than one portion per person.

It would be lovely to see you again at Swiss Chuchi.

Best Regards,

Nadia Ritzmann
Chef de Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Swiss Chuchi also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Swiss Chuchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing