We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What can be better tahn a fondue or knockwurst in wine sauce”

Restaurant Swiss Chuchi
Ranked #28 of 1,893 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
223 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What can be better tahn a fondue or knockwurst in wine sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

When in Switzerland eat Swiss dishes.
This was a perfect restauirant in Old Town.
Some of our friends eat the typicsal fondue of beef, lam , chichen in hot oil with numerous dipping sauces. Two had knockwurst in dark wine with oinins.
There were numerous side dishes as well as a large assortment of desserts.
Staff was great and decor was typical Swiss.
Highly recommended , but make reservation on wekends between 5-8PM otherwise just walk in or sit outside weather permitting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GARY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    676
    242
    82
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Kent, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Typical Swiss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was typical Swiss food for the most part, with an emphasis on pleasing the tourists. The menu was actually pretty varied. I had calves liver in a nice sauce. For sure there was fondue and rosti. Service was efficient.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank oxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Fondue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the hotel where this restaurant is located. It's very busy and popular so a reservation is needed for more than 2 or 4 people. We wanted fondue and ordered 5 different kinds to share among 8 of us. Not a drop or crumb of bread was left, it was all that good. It's not cheap by any means but not much in Zurich is anyway. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank todls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Fondue fun...but bring your wallet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We touched down in Zurich, and immediately went looking for fondue. The concierge at our hotel suggest another restaurant, but we really couldn't find it. We walked around, and then decided to settle into the wobbly outdoor tables at this restaurant.

We had two kids and two adults, but the waiter said we had to order one dish each, even if we were sharing. We ordered a cheese fondue dish, and a chicken fondue dish, plus a couple other dishes. I think they re-cycle their broth, since we have a charred piece of something at the bottom, which wasn't part of what we ordered.

Overall, the food was very nice, and we have a new appreciation of stinky cheese...we really did enjoy it. Very high in saturated fat, which made it all the more delicious.

The prices were quite shocking, compared to N.America, considering the service wasn't really that attentive. I believe that meal came up to about 130 euros.

Sitting outside was nice, and just settling into the rhythm of the activities of Zurich was good. It's obviously very touristy, but we loved the area. Certainly worth the visit, but it will cost you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We came back three times we loved it so much!! Service was a breath of fresh air and they even sang happy birthday to me with a ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I found the people of Zurich cold and rude ... Until we came here!! We loved the service and the food was delicious. They greet you like a friend especially once we went back the third time!! The manager (who's name I forget) was fun and attentive. We did have to wait to be seated but he even made that fun.

The staff were great although they are always busy so can be a touch slow. This restaurant made our Zurich experience a thousand times better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JP5574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Swiss Chuchi also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Swiss Chuchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing